SOLVED-FF57: Increase number of tab toolbar lines???

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
User avatar
Flycaster
Posts: 1167
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

SOLVED-FF57: Increase number of tab toolbar lines???

Post by Flycaster »

I have moved the tab toolbar to below the bookmark toolbar. I would like to be able to increase the number of tab toolbar lines so that I don't have to scroll to see hidden tabs on the single existing toolbar line.
Last edited by Flycaster on January 18th, 2018, 8:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender
User avatar
smsmith
Moderator
Posts: 19979
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: FF57: Increase number of tab toolbar lines???

Post by smsmith »

Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.
User avatar
Flycaster
Posts: 1167
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Re: FF57: Increase number of tab toolbar lines???

Post by Flycaster »

Neither of the codes worked. I copied each code and tested them separately. However, I did find this one that worked. As i really don't know much abut "codes," I just copied the whole code into my userChrome.css file. Does one need the whole code, or is there just a part of it that would work? Also, the only minor glitch was that moving a tab (place cursor on tab, hold left click and drag to a new place on the tab toolbar). Tabs couldn't always be moved to where you wanted them. None could be moved from from first to second line. Some could be moved along its line, but only up to a certain point. So far, I guess I can live with this until a better code comes out.

Code: Select all

/* MULTI-ROW TABS 
   based on https://www.reddit.com/r/FirefoxCSS/comments/7dclp7/multirow_tabs_in_ff57/ 
   If tabs are too narrow, go into about:config and adjust browser.tabs.tabMinWidth
*/

/* General Rules */
#tabbrowser-tabs .arrowscrollbox-scrollbox {
  overflow: visible; 
  display: block;
}
#tabbrowser-tabs .scrollbox-innerbox {
  display: flex;
  flex-wrap: wrap;
  min-height: var(--tab-min-height);
  max-height: calc((5 * var(--tab-min-height)) + 1px) !important; /* up to 5 rows */
}
.tabbrowser-tab, .tab-background {
  height: var(--tab-min-height);
}
.tab-stack {
  width: 100%;
}
#main-window[sizemode="normal"] #TabsToolbar {
  border-left: 1px solid #888 !important;
}
/* Title bar rules */
#titlebar, #titlebar-buttonbox {
  height: var(--tab-min-height) !important;
}
#titlebar {
  margin-bottom: calc(var(--tab-min-height)*-1) !important;
}
#main-window[sizemode="maximized"] #titlebar {
  margin-bottom: calc(6px + var(--tab-min-height)*-1) !important;
}
#titlebar:active {
  margin-bottom: 0 !important;
}
#titlebar:active #titlebar-content {
  margin-bottom: var(--tab-min-height) !important;
}
/* Remove unnecessary buttons and the blank areas at left and right */
#tabbrowser-tabs .scrollbutton-up, #tabbrowser-tabs .scrollbutton-down, 
#alltabs-button, .tabbrowser-tab:not([fadein]), 
.titlebar-placeholder[type="pre-tabs"], 
.titlebar-placeholder[type="post-tabs"] {
  display: none;
}
/* Ensure a border between tabs (#aaa is a light gray) */
.tabbrowser-tab:not(:last-of-type) {
  border-right: 1px solid #aaa !important;
}
Last edited by RobertJ on January 18th, 2018, 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Clarity
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender
Post Reply