MozillaZine

Firefox won't recognize Flash 31

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Ryosagi
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 14th, 2006, 10:01 pm

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 1:02 pm

I downloaded the latest Flash, but Firefox still insisted its out of date. Went to check on the plugin and it still has me on Flash 30. Tried downloading to 31 again, and its still the same issue.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 3740
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 1:20 pm

Maybe the Flash version doesn't work with your WindowsXP?

Check the system requirements for the plugin.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Ryosagi
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 14th, 2006, 10:01 pm

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 1:26 pm

When I checked the adobe page, it just said the latest browser with no specifics but said that XP should be fine.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120265
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 3:55 pm

Have you reviewed this thread -- https://forums.adobe.com/thread/2242649

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27405
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 5:05 pm

Make sure it is the NPAPI version of Flash Player and not PPAPI (Pepper) or ActiveX (for IE).

https://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/otherversions/

Do make sure you uncheck the optional extras (for Windows users) on download page.

If Firefox was still running when you install Flash Player then either restart Firefox or type about:plugins in the Location (address) bar so Firefox will scan for the new version of NPAPI Flash Player install on system.

Ryosagi
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 14th, 2006, 10:01 pm

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 8:41 pm

Thank you all for the info. Will look into this.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52415
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 8:52 pm

Try to delete the pluginreg.dat file in the Firefox profile folder and maybe also delete addons.sqlite to reset the plugin registry database.

See Re-initializing the plugins database:
https://support.mozilla.org/kb/troubles ... x-problems

Ryosagi
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 14th, 2006, 10:01 pm

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 9:44 pm

Made sure to download the NPAPI version, and from what I see of my computer have 2.39ghz. Tried the "Re-initializing" method, and I can't seem to find the addons.sqlite file, but other than that, I deleted the pluginreg.dat file. Still seems to be stuck on Flash 30.0.0.113

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19104
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 10:28 am

What does about:plugins show?
What does Addons Manager -> Plugins show?

Do you have, NPSWF32_31_0_0_122.dll, in C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash\ ?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Ryosagi
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 14th, 2006, 10:01 pm

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 9:36 pm

When I went there, it had exactly that.

What it looked like:

File: NPSWF32_31_0_0_122.dll
Path: C:\WINDOWS\system32\Macromed\Flash\NPSWF32_31_0_0_122.dll
Version: 31.0.0.122
State: Enabled (STATE_VULNERABLE_UPDATE_AVAILABLE)
Shockwave Flash 31.0 r0

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 9:58 pm

There's no update beyond 31.0.0.122, unless that's referring to an update being available for Firefox.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3788
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 10:16 pm

this one helps out to find the current build:
https://helpx.adobe.com/security.html#flashplayer
click the latest KB (on top) and then scroll down to "Solution"

for issues uninstall flash in system control > programs, then use adobe uninstaller/cleaner
http://helpx.adobe.com/flash-player/kb/ ... ndows.html

Went to check on the plugin and it still has me on Flash 30

if you have uninstalled flash, dont reinstall firstm, have a look here:
about:addons -> Plugins
if flash is still listed you probably have it put into \c:\programme\Mozilla firefox\plugins

this method is ancient and makes firefox vulnerable. to consider that latest flash on xp is your smallest problem! i wont use it in that combination, for our and your security.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10216
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted October 13th, 2018, 2:51 pm

Maybe that's an XP thing? Anyway, mine showing Enabled isn't strictly comparable because I'm running 64-bit Firefox, which uses the 64-bit Flash plugin.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19104
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 14th, 2018, 7:16 am

On XP, or even on Win7, I typically only look to see if I have the latest version installed, not specifically for its' "State:".
Looks good here, on Win7. Can check XP, tomorrow.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Ryosagi
 
Posts: 37
Joined: May 14th, 2006, 10:01 pm

Post Posted Yesterday, 11:58 am

Thank you all for your help. Looking into it from the links, I am on the latest flash after all. Its just that when I go to "Add-ons Manager" and Firefox still says that its "vulnerable and should be updated". Click on "Update Now" and takes me to "Blocked Add-ons" and has "Flash Player Plugin 30.0.0.113 and older (click-to-play) has been blocked for your protection." on there. Its why I assume Firefox always keeps saying that it needs to be upgraded.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 11 guests