MozillaZine

Firefox opens new window instead of tab from ext. link (Mac)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Tuser
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 31st, 2015, 4:09 pm

Post Posted February 19th, 2020, 4:10 pm

When I open a new link from an external source (Thunderbird) this is what always happens:
1. Firefox 73.0.1 (64-bit) is already running: I get a new tab in the current open window just as I have set it - great!
2. Firefox is not already running: It launches and I get a first window with the home page and a SECOND window with the link - HATE!

I want example 2 to behave like example 1.

I have the correct tab settings in preferences I have played with the settings in about:config (browser.link.open_newwindow, etc, etc) and I cannot change this behavior.

I am running Mac OS Catalina version 10.15.3 (19D76) (latest).

I am thinking bug.
Last edited by DanRaisch on February 19th, 2020, 4:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: (Mac) added to Subject line.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122701
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 19th, 2020, 4:41 pm

Moving to Firefox Support as no specific bug has been identified here.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10851
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 21st, 2020, 2:15 pm

Tuser wrote:When I open a new link from an external source (Thunderbird) this is what always happens:
1. Firefox 73.0.1 (64-bit) is already running: I get a new tab in the current open window just as I have set it - great!
2. Firefox is not already running: It launches and I get a first window with the home page and a SECOND window with the link - HATE!
I am running Mac OS Catalina version 10.15.3 (19D76) (latest).

I am thinking bug.

Using Max OS 10.13.6

When I open a new link from an external source (Thunderbird) this is what happens:
1. Firefox 73.0.1 (64-bit) is already running: I get a new tab in the current open window showing the link from TB.
2. Firefox is not already running: FF launches and I get a new window showing the link from TB. No second window.

No bug; works as always.

.
FF 74.0.1 - FF 75b11 - FF 76a - TB 68.6 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

sebring*
 
Posts: 13
Joined: March 26th, 2011, 8:11 am

Post Posted February 22nd, 2020, 11:37 am

I have the same operating system as opening poster has and I have the exact same problem when using Thunderbird or Mac Mail. I am just wondering if it is a Mac problem.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122701
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted February 22nd, 2020, 8:21 pm

If you are seeing the same issue with both Mac Mail AND Thunderbird it seems very unlikely that it could be a Thunderbird problem.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10851
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 24th, 2020, 1:21 pm

DanRaisch wrote:If you are seeing the same issue with both Mac Mail AND Thunderbird it seems very unlikely that it could be a Thunderbird problem.

I think he/she thinks it is a FF issue. Although I do not see it on Mac (have different OS).

.
FF 74.0.1 - FF 75b11 - FF 76a - TB 68.6 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

Tuser
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 31st, 2015, 4:09 pm

Post Posted February 27th, 2020, 12:42 am

I am saying it is a Firefox problem. It doesn’t happen when I run this version of Firefox on Mojave on the same machine.
Moreover, the new window doesn’t operate properly; the Firefox menu is not complete in the menu bar, and the right-click context menus in the webpage do not have content.

If I kill the new window, hit the external link again, then I get a new tab in the old window, and everything is fine.

It appears the newest Firefox is not ready for Catalina.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20266
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted February 28th, 2020, 6:11 am

(And to top things off, if you happened to use multiple Profiles, external links [now, since FF67] will cause your default Profile to open - which may not be the particular instance that you may have open, currently. Now, how brilliant is that ;-).)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests