MozillaZine

Each press CTRL+TAB or CTRL+SHIFT+TAB shows next tab?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 29th, 2020, 11:03 pm

By pressing CTRL+TAB or CTRL+SHIFT+TAB I want Firefox to open / jump to the next tab and go on doing it by each press (instead of going to the next tab with the first press and going back to the tab before by the second press and so on).

What do I have to do to manage that?
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123193
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 30th, 2020, 3:03 am

If I understand your post correctly, that IS what Firefox does now. Ctrl+tab means "go to the next tab to the right" while Ctrl+Shift+Tab means "Go the the next tab to the left". If that is not what your installation is doing, Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2020, 3:16 am

Yes, it does. I have more than one Firefox, they all work like you describe but the last one does not (pressing CTRL+TAB, relesing the keys, pressing them again, releasing and so on switch between two tabs always). So I assumed it is some setting doing it, but it obviously is not.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10962
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted June 30th, 2020, 7:44 am

On the Options page, look in the Tabs section for:

[X] Ctrl+Tab cycles through tabs in recently used order

and uncheck that box.

Dirki
 
Posts: 792
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2020, 10:06 am

Ah, now I see, couldn't find it the first time, very bad translation / wording I would think.

Many thanks!
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 5 guests