MozillaZine


SOLVED - FF 93.0 Remove 'Toggle Bar (F9) and how, please?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Energise

User avatar
 
Posts: 323
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 3:11 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK

Post Posted October 18th, 2021, 8:16 am

Windows 10 v 20H2 (19042.1288)
Firefox 93.0 64-bit

I've just installed the latest version of Firefox (93.0) and would like to remo ve the 'Toggle Box (F9)', if this is possible.

I've been to 'Customise' and added/removed a few various ones but can't see where, or how, to remove the 'Toggle' button, which I won't be using.

Hopefully, one of you, with vast your experience and knowledge, will be able to point me in the right direction.

Many thanks
Last edited by Energise on October 19th, 2021, 8:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11467
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted October 18th, 2021, 8:52 am

You want to hide the Reader View button from the address bar, or keep the button and disable the F9 keyboard shortcut, or completely disable Reader View?

Energise

User avatar
 
Posts: 323
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 3:11 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK

Post Posted October 18th, 2021, 11:06 am

jscher2000 wrote:You want to hide the Reader View button from the address bar, or keep the button and disable the F9 keyboard shortcut, or completely disable Reader View?

Thanks for your response, @jsher2000

It's the button/icon itself, that I want to remove/hide. I've got no need for it but, should I want it, I can use F9. I don't want to just disable it, I want it gone! LOL

Thanks

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11467
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted October 18th, 2021, 1:53 pm

I think you'll need to use a userChrome.css rule to hide the button. Have you delved into that world before?

Energise

User avatar
 
Posts: 323
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 3:11 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK

Post Posted October 18th, 2021, 2:33 pm

jscher2000 wrote:I think you'll need to use a userChrome.css rule to hide the button. Have you delved into that world before?

Hi again

Yes, infrequently and not recently, though, but I think I remember one is advised to first make a copy of the file. I can't remember quite where that file is, just now, although it may come back to me, one day!!! LOL

Interestingly enough, although I have same version of FF and same version/build Win 10, I don't have this 'icon' on my PC but I do on laptop. It's the one on the laptop I'd like to get rid of it

Can I assume you are aware of how to fix this ... ? ;) Please share, do! ;)

Thanks. I appreciate any help

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53551
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 18th, 2021, 3:47 pm

That would be this code in userChrome.css.
Code: Select all
#reader-mode-button { display: none !important; }


Note that Reade mode is only available if a website meets certain conditions like the size of text containers and the layout in general.

Energise

User avatar
 
Posts: 323
Joined: January 4th, 2008, 3:11 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK

Post Posted October 19th, 2021, 8:48 am

dickvl wrote:That would be this code in userChrome.css.
Code: Select all
#reader-mode-button { display: none !important; }


Note that Reade mode is only available if a website meets certain conditions like the size of text containers and the layout in general.

Thanks very much dickvl
I've had to create a 'chrome' file and then created userChrome.css file. On opening FF, the icon has GONE!!!! Many thanks for this. I really appreciate it :)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests