MozillaZine


Firefox opens but does not display a window

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
ptoye
 
Posts: 46
Joined: February 3rd, 2008, 10:30 am

Post Posted October 27th, 2021, 10:08 am

Using Windows 10 Home 64-bit and Firefox 93.0 64-bit

On occasions, opening Firefox starts the program but does not display any window. I normally open it by clicking on the icon on the taskbar - nothing happens on the monitor but the program is running and purportedly displaying the last URL https://www.theyorkshirejigsawstore.co. ... -102-c.asp

The only way to close the program is to use the task manager, but that's not much use as restarting Firefox just gets me into the same situation. ](*,) Rebooting has no effect.

If I right-click on the icon and open a new window, I get a smallish window with my home page on it, so I can continue working, but it's a pain.

I don't think it's the fault of the web site - it opens fine in Chrome, and I've had this problem before.

No idea what's going on or how to cure it - any ideas welcome.
Peter

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 125467
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 27th, 2021, 10:41 am

Does the same thing occur if you start the program in Mozilla Trouble Shooting Mode? https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/di ... shoot-mode

morat
 
Posts: 4852
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted October 27th, 2021, 11:08 am

Tip: always use File > Exit to shut down Firefox, instead of the top right "X" close button

ptoye
 
Posts: 46
Joined: February 3rd, 2008, 10:30 am

Post Posted October 28th, 2021, 2:40 am

DanRaisch wrote:Does the same thing occur if you start the program in Mozilla Trouble Shooting Mode? https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/di ... shoot-mode

Thanks - I'd forgotten (or never knew) about this. When I start FF is trouble-shooting mode the windows comes up OK, but for some reason the title bar at the top is missing. So there are two issues here (and it might be a Windows problem, not a FF one). Also, I use a password protector addon which of course has disappeared - this makes logging in rather difficult as my passwords are random :(

I suppose that the next step is to try getting rid of my various addons (not many) and see what happens. I'll report back later.

[Later] Interesting. After a reboot the 'normal' FF window came back - my addons were there, the title bar was there. Apart from starting FF in trouble-shooting mode I don't think I did anything else which would have changed its behaviour. :?
Last edited by ptoye on October 28th, 2021, 4:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Peter

ptoye
 
Posts: 46
Joined: February 3rd, 2008, 10:30 am

Post Posted October 28th, 2021, 2:41 am

morat wrote:Tip: always use File > Exit to shut down Firefox, instead of the top right "X" close button

Thanks -I didn't know about that. But as the 'File' menu has disappeared (see my comment above) it won't work!
Peter

morat
 
Posts: 4852
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted October 28th, 2021, 5:15 am

ptoye wrote:'File' menu has disappeared

Restore the Menu bar in Firefox
http://support.mozilla.org/kb/restore-menu-bar-firefox

ptoye
 
Posts: 46
Joined: February 3rd, 2008, 10:30 am

Post Posted October 28th, 2021, 7:01 am

morat wrote:
ptoye wrote:'File' menu has disappeared

Restore the Menu bar in Firefox
http://support.mozilla.org/kb/restore-menu-bar-firefox

Thanks, but as you'll see form my comment above, it's no longer necessary. What's interesting, though, is why it disappeared in the first place.
Peter

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20903
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted November 4th, 2021, 9:49 am

If you happen to use multiple monitors...
If FF happened to be on a monitor that happened to now be turned off...
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

ptoye
 
Posts: 46
Joined: February 3rd, 2008, 10:30 am

Post Posted November 4th, 2021, 11:33 am

therube wrote:If you happen to use multiple monitors...
If FF happened to be on a monitor that happened to now be turned off...

Thanks for the idea, but I have only one monitor.
Peter

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bob c and 8 guests