MozillaZine


FF's Plethora of Processes is Causing Problems

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
gw1500se
 
Posts: 212
Joined: April 25th, 2008, 6:16 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2021, 9:05 am

I have too many FF processing. Which 2 tabs open there are 22 processes. I have found articles abut how to reduce that but they are all for pre-version 94 and the settings suggested do not exist any more. Can someone point me to documentation for version 94? TIA.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20941
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 3rd, 2021, 9:30 am

FF's Plethora of Processes is Causing Problems

Just what problems are you having.

(Processes, by themselves are not an indicator of "issues".)


I just opened a Profile, 7 windows & 15 processes. (No video running.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

gw1500se
 
Posts: 212
Joined: April 25th, 2008, 6:16 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2021, 10:24 am

The main problem is memory but a secondary problem is when running a selenium application it seems to occasionally get confused about which FF it should be using.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53601
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted December 3rd, 2021, 1:07 pm

You likely have enabled Fission if you have that many processes and if Fission is enabled then you can no longer control the number of content processes.

You can set fission.autostart = false to opt-out of this experiment and disable Fission.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ab ... or-firefox

gw1500se
 
Posts: 212
Joined: April 25th, 2008, 6:16 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2021, 2:18 pm

Thanks. I'll give it a try.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests