MozillaZine


Profiles.ini

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
dangnad
 
Posts: 58
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:51 pm

Post Posted May 17th, 2022, 1:46 pm

Firefox 88

Recently checked my profiles.ini and found several entries including one marked as "default=1" that wasn't default. I changed that but FF is still misbehaving in ways I can't explain. I think I need a fresh profiles.ini file. How should the "perfect" profiles.ini look? That is, the minimum necessary for FF to run smoothly. I'm the only user.

tanstaafl
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 48967
Joined: July 30th, 2003, 5:06 pm

Post Posted May 18th, 2022, 9:40 am

Rather than editing profiles.ini I suggest you enter about:profiles in the address bar and use that profile manager to delete any unwanted profiles, change the default profile etc. Editing profiles.ini directly is error prone.

You might have a mix of old profile entries (from before the dedicated profile per instance feature was added) and newer ones that use a different syntax.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/un ... stallation

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53667
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2022, 10:42 am

How many profiles do you use regularly ?
If that is only one profile then you would only need a profiles.ini with this profile listed.
Note that current releases also add extra Installxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx data to profiles.ini to lock a profile against a specific Firefox version/installation, so do not get confused by these entries.

The entry marked with Default=1 is the profile that is used when you do not specify a profile via the command line in a shortcut or open an external link in Firefox and Firefox isn't running.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/de ... stallation

dangnad
 
Posts: 58
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:51 pm

Post Posted May 18th, 2022, 6:30 pm

Thanks tanstaafl and dickvl. I just wanted to start with a clean slate, no extra entries. I was able to execute more than one instance of FF (not Window). That is, I click on the taskbar FF icon open one instance then click it again and open a second instance.

Great answers both of you. FF is still the best since 1996. I'll stick with you to the bitter end (which I hope never happens).

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 21024
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 19th, 2022, 9:28 am

FF is still misbehaving in ways I can't explain

Could you explain that ;-).
I just wanted to start with a clean slate

Then create a new Profile.

I was able to execute more than one instance of FF (not Window). That is, I click on the taskbar FF icon open one instance then click it again and open a second instance.

That does not sound correct.
What does your testbar icon Properties show?


FF 88, as you know, is well out of date.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

dangnad
 
Posts: 58
Joined: April 14th, 2005, 4:51 pm

Post Posted May 26th, 2022, 4:11 pm

Sorry for being late therube. Mozillazine is not sending me email notification.

Taskbar icon: "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 21024
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 31st, 2022, 8:58 am

AFAIK, that should be opening a new windows, not a new instance.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests