MozillaZine


Simultaneous multiple language spell checks

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 730
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted August 8th, 2022, 4:00 pm

This new feature is great but only one language can be set in the Settings. I posted a feature request at bugzilla, but I am wondering if such a preference setting is already available for the user.js.
Firefox 104.0.2 in Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon 64 bit - updated on 2022-09-20 17:23

morat
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 9th, 2022, 5:54 am

AFAICT, there is only the spellchecker.dictionary pref and the spellcheck.lang content pref stored in the content-prefs.sqlite file. The spellchecker.dictionary pref is a comma separated list of dictionaries.

Spellchecker bug list
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/buglist.cgi?product=Core&component=Spelling%20checker

Spellchecker needs to allow multiple language dictionaries at the same time
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1402822
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1402822#c38

Spell check multiple languages cannot be set (reporter ineuw)
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1782129

For reading only as Bugzilla is not a forum.

ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 730
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted August 9th, 2022, 2:44 pm

Thanks for your effort. The last one is my feature request. I believe that they will eventually deal with it.

I was looking for a way to have both checked in the menu, because every page change, the check mark is removed.

I was hoping that a Pref can be specified to have each checked.
Firefox 104.0.2 in Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon 64 bit - updated on 2022-09-20 17:23

mgagnonlv
 
Posts: 842
Joined: February 12th, 2005, 8:33 pm

Post Posted August 9th, 2022, 2:58 pm

As long as they don't force it, that would be ok. I like the current implementation in Thunderbird 91, where it is possible to check one or a few languages. But I would not like if they were to do like in most Chrome-based browsers where all languages are checked at once. It might be convenient in some cases, but I want to make sure that "traffic" isn't flagged when I write in English but flagged as inaccurate when I write in French (in French, "trafic" takes one f).
Michel Gagnon
Montréal (Québec, Canada)

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53749
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted August 10th, 2022, 12:28 pm

Firefox 100+ supports spell checking in multiple languages.
To enable additional languages, select them in the text field’s context menu.

Switching dictionaries:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ho ... ll-checker

ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 730
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted August 10th, 2022, 2:26 pm

dickvl wrote:Firefox 100+ supports spell checking in multiple languages.
To enable additional languages, select them in the text field’s context menu.

Switching dictionaries:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ho ... ll-checker


I am aware of that, and that is the problem. I don't want to set the context menu for each page of text I work on. I spell check thousands of pages of text from Internet Archive.
Firefox 104.0.2 in Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon 64 bit - updated on 2022-09-20 17:23

morat
 
Posts: 5300
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 11th, 2022, 7:56 pm

Maybe you could use a header addon to edit the Content-Language header field on a particular URL as a workaround.

developer wrote:If the site has multiple languages declared in its Content-Language header and there is no more specific lang tag in HTML, we try to enable a dictionary for every content language.

Reference
http://searchfox.org/mozilla-release/search?q=multiple+languages&path=EditorSpellCheck.cpp

AMO Search for Header
http://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/search/?q=Header

ModHeader
http://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/943360

ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 730
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted August 12th, 2022, 12:55 am

morat wrote:Maybe you could use a header addon to edit the Content-Language header field on a particular URL as a workaround.

developer wrote:If the site has multiple languages declared in its Content-Language header and there is no more specific lang tag in HTML, we try to enable a dictionary for every content language.

Reference
http://searchfox.org/mozilla-release/search?q=multiple+languages&path=EditorSpellCheck.cpp

AMO Search for Header
http://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/search/?q=Header

ModHeader
http://addons.mozilla.org/firefox/addon/943360


I can't thank you enough for your effort of posting the links and their order. This made it eminently easier to understand. =D>
Firefox 104.0.2 in Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon 64 bit - updated on 2022-09-20 17:23

ineuw

User avatar
 
Posts: 730
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 4:17 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Post Posted August 12th, 2022, 1:11 am

dickvl wrote:Firefox 100+ supports spell checking in multiple languages.
To enable additional languages, select them in the text field’s context menu.

Switching dictionaries:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ho ... ll-checker


Thanks for the link because it's one of the important reasons I am using Firefox.
. . . . and now double thanks for brinigning it to my attention. I am a long time user, but do not keep up with the upgrades until they affect me.
Firefox 104.0.2 in Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon 64 bit - updated on 2022-09-20 17:23

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests