MozillaZine

How to move the location bar below the tab bar?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
calande
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 8th, 2008, 7:07 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2008, 2:46 am

Hello,

I installed an extension to hide the menu bar and now I want to move the tab bar above the location bar. How could I do that? :)
Thanks!

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39905
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2008, 3:08 am

As far as i know you can't. The tab bar is part of the browser window but the location bar is part of the main window.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

calande
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 8th, 2008, 7:07 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2008, 3:20 am

Oh, too bad :'(

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted September 18th, 2008, 3:25 am

Place the following into userChrome.css
Code: Select all
@-moz-document url("chrome://browser/content/browser.xul"){
.tabbrowser-strip
{
position:fixed;
top:0px;
width:100%!important;
z-index:0;
}

tab
{
-moz-user-select:-moz-none!important;
z-index:0!important;
-moz-border-radius-bottomleft: 0px!important;
}

.tabbrowser-strip .tabbrowser-tabs
{
width:100%!important;
}

.tab-drop-indicator-bar
{
position:fixed!important;
top:0px;
left:0px;
width:100%!important;
z-index:1;
}

window
{
padding-top:31px;
}

}

http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css

from Moktoipas at userStyles
"So it goes" - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

calande
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 8th, 2008, 7:07 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2008, 3:37 am

Thanks! It's working almost perfectly :)
How can I do so that when there is only one tab open, the tab bar hides automatically?

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22519
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted September 18th, 2008, 9:52 am

Go to tools/options/tabs and click the box that says "always show the tab bar"...that should
keep one tab open at all times.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

calande
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 8th, 2008, 7:07 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2008, 10:43 am

Thanks, this is exactly what I wanted! Looks great and clean :)

Screenshot: http://i34.tinypic.com/2mzxdzp.png

calande
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 8th, 2008, 7:07 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2008, 3:15 am

Hi guys, is there a way I can hide the menu bar with a CSS instead of an extension? The extension is incompatible with Minefield... Thanks! :)

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted September 28th, 2008, 3:54 am

What extension? Perhaps you could bump it.

Try right clicking install button, "save link as" download xpi to desktop, Open xpi in zip archiver, open install.rdf in notepad, change max version to 3.1, then File > Open File, browse to xpi, open to install

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Editing_an_ad ... patibility


I use Personal Menu 4.1pre https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3895

Combine all items to a single menu, move button to nav bar and hide menubar.
"So it goes" - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

calande
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 8th, 2008, 7:07 am

Post Posted September 28th, 2008, 4:01 am

Here's the extension that isn't compatible with the latest trunk: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/4762
Any idea how I could achieve the same result using CSS code?

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted September 28th, 2008, 4:58 am

That extension installs and works fine in Minefield if you bump it to 3.1
see above post.
"So it goes" - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests