MozillaZine

How to customise background of menu bar and icon bar?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Sonicwonder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 15th, 2008, 3:24 am
Location: London (UK)

Post Posted January 12th, 2009, 1:33 pm

Hello there,

That's it, i couldn't stand the harrassment anymore and i updated to FF3.
However, i lost a really neat feature i was very fond of, and i'm wondering if someone knows whether i can get it back:

In FF2, using userChrome.css, i had an image (a nice sky) as a background for the menu bar (all the way to the right), the icon bar (you know, the "Back", "Stop", "Home", etc... and the location bar) and the tab bar.
The code in the CSS was:

Code: Select all
menubar, toolbox, toolbar, .tabbrowser-tabs
{
   background-image: url("toolbar.png") !important;
   background-color: none !important;
}


The same code in FF3 gives the tab bar the desired effect and the menu bar too but only as far as the "Help" menu, not all the way to the right, which looks naff. And there is no background on the icon bar; and that looks even more naff.

Any way to solve that?

Many thanks.
Windows XP pro with SP3
Firefox 3.0.5

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted January 12th, 2009, 2:30 pm

Maybe try

Code: Select all
/* background image for all toolbars */
toolbox,
#toolbar-menubar,
#nav-bar,
#PersonalToolbar,
#FindToolbar,
tabbox,
sidebarheader,
#sidebar-box,
window statusbarpanel {
  -moz-appearance: none !important;
  background-image: url('background.gif') !important;
  background-color: transparent !important;
}


selecting only desired elements, of course

maybe moz-appearance:none important might do it

from http://www.linnhe2.free-online.co.uk/fi ... 20toolbars
"So it goes" - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

Sonicwonder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 15th, 2008, 3:24 am
Location: London (UK)

Post Posted January 12th, 2009, 3:24 pm

alterna,

Thank you so much, yes it worked perfectly.
I didn't liked the status bar with the background but that was easily removed.
And thanks for the link!

alterna

User avatar
 
Posts: 3993
Joined: January 16th, 2007, 8:27 am
Location: Big Apple

Post Posted January 12th, 2009, 4:09 pm

Save that url. A good source for code. :)
"So it goes" - Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.

Sonicwonder
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 15th, 2008, 3:24 am
Location: London (UK)

Post Posted January 12th, 2009, 4:17 pm

alterna wrote:Save that url. A good source for code. :)

It is bookmarked already 8-)
I'm looking at the other customisations too at the minute.

Cheers.
Windows XP pro with SP3
Firefox 3.0.5

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39237
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted February 24th, 2010, 6:48 am

o1bryan...
I split your post off to here, as this thread is over a year old.
> viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1768335
Locking this relic.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
W.M.Y.C.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 12 guests