MozillaZine

Why does Java take so long to load?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 9:41 am

I mean look at IE - almost instantly; in Firefox, first, the Java machine has to be loaded - why can't it be like IE?

LeRoi
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10346
Joined: September 15th, 2003, 10:22 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 9:45 am

Firefox is not IE (thank goodness!).

Have you configured the Java Plugin to cache applets so they don't take so long to load on subsequent visits to webpages that contain them?

The Java Plugin controls are located in your control panel.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 9:46 am

But why isn't Java embeded within Firefox, even if a cache of all the Java applets is held, the Java machine will still load slow.

tomdkat
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: October 14th, 2003, 7:53 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 9:50 am

The Java runtime takes a while to load since there's a LOT of data (DLLs, etc) that needs to load and then initialize, etc. Once the JRE (Java plugin) has been loaded, subsequent loads of Java applets should be faster as the JRE itself doesn't have to load.

Firefox shouldn't have those kinds of plugins embedded (in my opinion) as not every user will have a need for them. Avoiding "bloat" is something the Firefox developers are wanting to do so Firefox will remain a lean and mean browsing machine! :)

Peace...

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 9:52 am

So you say IE loads Java when Windows boots?

LeRoi
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10346
Joined: September 15th, 2003, 10:22 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 9:57 am

How long does it take the JRE to load, two seconds, three? If it takes much longer than that, I would say something is wrong with your JRE installation. What version of JRE are you using?

I have no idea how IE handles its' virtual machine, but I know most of IE is loaded into memory when Windows starts. That's why it springs to life so quickly when you click its' icon, but I would rather use Gecko based browsers any day.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 9:58 am

http://plugindoc.mozdev.org/windows.html

Java Runtime Environment 1.4.2_05

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 9:59 am

It takes me like 20 sec to load.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 10:02 am

Oh and i have Windows 98, P3 450 mgz, 64 mb ram, 32 mb v card, 8 gig hard drive.

LeRoi
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10346
Joined: September 15th, 2003, 10:22 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 10:05 am

I'm using the same version JRE and it takes nowhere near that long to load on my system; 1.1GHZ Athlon, 512MB pc133 SDRAM, WinME.

Did you uninstall any old versions before installing the JRE? I always do and I always use the offline installer.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 10:06 am

Yes, maybe my prob is in my 4 and hald year old comp.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 10:13 am

up

LeRoi
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10346
Joined: September 15th, 2003, 10:22 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 10:33 am

Close Firefox and put this in your user.js file:

// Specify the amount of memory cache in kilobytes:
user_pref("browser.cache.memory.capacity", 4096);

Firefox Help: Editing Configuration Files

Download and install Cacheman:

http://www.outertech.com/index.php?_cha ... oduct&id=2

Load one of the profiles meant for older slower computers, but do not run Cacheman in the background or at startup (options within Cacheman's GUI); the settings are in effect when Cacheman is not running (do not enable conservative swapfile usage!).

Your pc barely meets minimum requirements (RAM) for Firefox.

Mozilla Firefox - System Requirements
Last edited by LeRoi on July 27th, 2004, 10:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

tomdkat
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: October 14th, 2003, 7:53 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 10:36 am

LeRoi, how will adjust the browser cache settings make the JRE load any faster on his machine?

Peace...

tomdkat
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: October 14th, 2003, 7:53 am

Post Posted July 27th, 2004, 10:38 am

Anonymous wrote:So you say IE loads Java when Windows boots?
I'm not necesarily saying that but if IE is using the MS VM, it will probably load much faster than Sun's JRE.

Peace...

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests