"My Yahoo is experiencing some technical difficulties"

User Help for Mozilla Firefox

Post Posted February 18th, 2009, 9:43 am


I am having a problem when I try to load my home page, which is a "My Yahoo" home page. In my main MAC user account everything works fine. However, I just logged in to my kid's account, and when I access my home page, I get the following error:

My Yahoo is experiencing some technical difficulties. Click OK to reload your page.

I can see my page in the background, although it is somewhat "greyed out". If I click OK once I get the same message, if I click it again I get a "400 Bad Request" page.

I cleared the cache and restarted FF and my computer but I still get the same thing.

Any ideas?


p.s. I am using Leopard 10.5.6 and FF 3.0.6


User avatar
Posts: 3859
Joined: July 20th, 2003, 1:13 am
Location: Memphis, TN

Post Posted February 18th, 2009, 9:49 am

Umm, probably because yahoo is "experiencing some technical difficulties"? things happen on web servers.
Collapse unwanted MozillaZine forum sections ** Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day; teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime; give a man religion and he will die praying for a fish.


User avatar
Posts: 39497
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted February 18th, 2009, 9:50 am

Try safe mode This will turn off the extensions and themes. If that works post a list of the extension and someone might see something.

Also, if you are using a content blocker you might want to turn that off briefly and see if Yahoo works.
Post wrangler
And reflect that whatever your misfortune may be your lot
It could only be worse in Milwaukee


Post Posted February 18th, 2009, 9:53 am

kindofabuzz wrote:Umm, probably because yahoo is "experiencing some technical difficulties"? things happen on web servers.

Absolutely, but that doesn't explain why it works from one account and not the other.

I will try the practical advice given by loudnoise.



Post Posted February 19th, 2009, 7:07 am

OK, I tried launching in safe mode and I still have the same issue.

I do not have any content blockers on.

From the problem account, I tried accessing "My Yahoo" via Safari and that works fine so it looks like the problem is FF related.

Any suggestions?



User avatar
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted February 19th, 2009, 7:16 am

Try clearing your cache and Yahoo-related cookies.
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13


Post Posted March 24th, 2009, 6:23 am

I am having the same problem. If I turn off javascript in firefox all works well, but when I have javascript turned on lots of websites break. Those same websites work just fine under a different profile on the same mac. Safari works fine for all the sites. It is almost as the js library or js engine is messed up on my wife's account and not mine. Is there anywhere to look for errors like this?


Post Posted September 22nd, 2009, 4:02 pm

Just curious, are you running accounts with Parental Control? I had the same issue, and when I disabled the Parental Controls, everything went back to normal.


Post Posted March 13th, 2010, 4:04 pm

I get it too. First time 10 days ago. Second time today. At first I was afraid of an infection, but MBAM and ESET found nothing. Here's what it looks like. I can't believe that Yahoo would actually use something like this an tell you to click a button. Very Trojan-like.


Return to Firefox Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 15 guests