MozillaZine

Removing "Open new tab button" in firefox 3.5

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Cah
Guest
 

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 9:09 am

Is there to remove the new open new tab button that is to the right of tabs? I'd also like to remove the tab list thing on the right side but I can't figure out how to do it.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 9:19 am

Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37580
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 9:30 am

Thanks LN.
Anything to remove the tab drop down at the right?
Seems as though the "Stylish", "Remove tab drop down" has been immobilized.
Couldn't see any updated Styles.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 10:24 am

I know Tab Mix Plus allows you to control what buttons show up on the tab bar.
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37580
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 10:32 am

Thanks Bluefang.
Would really prefer the "Stylish" way. ;)
Hopefully, someone will update it.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 10:42 am

try

Code: Select all
.tabs-container .tabs-alltabs-stack,
.tabs-container .tabs-closebutton,
.tabs-container .tabs-newtab-button
{
display: none !important;
}
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37580
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 10:50 am

Well, that got rid of the "Close" button but didn't touch the "Drop Down".
Next please. ;)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 11:10 am

ok, try

Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-alltabs-stack
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-newtab-button
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-newtab-topbox
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-closebutton
{
display: none;
}

#alltabs-place-holder
{
width: 0px !important;
}
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37580
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 11:18 am

Sorry but no ceegarrh.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Bluefang

User avatar
 
Posts: 7857
Joined: August 10th, 2005, 2:55 pm
Location: Vermont

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 11:31 am

Apparently TMP messes around with the contents of the tab bar. Lets try this again with a virgin profile

Code: Select all
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-alltabs-button,
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-alltabs-box-animate,
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-newtab-button,
.tabbrowser-tabs .tabs-closebutton
{
display: none !important;
}
There have always been ghosts in the machine... random segments of code that have grouped together to form unexpected protocols. Unanticipated, these free radicals engender questions of free will, creativity, and even the nature of what we might call the soul...

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7495
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 11:52 am

Cah wrote:Is there to remove the new open new tab button that is to the right of tabs?

I put this in my userChrome.css file:
Code: Select all
/* Tab bar: hide new tab button */
tabbrowser .tabs-newtab-button { display: none !important }


Cah wrote:I'd also like to remove the tab list thing on the right side but I can't figure out how to do it.

I didn't have that one displayed when Firefox 3.5 first started up, so I assume it was hidden by this userChrome.css code:
Code: Select all
/* Tab bar: hide all tabs drop-down list */
.tabbrowser-strip *[class^="tabs-alltabs"] { display: none !important }
Prelude

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37580
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 11:55 am

Removes both buttons.
I've got a bottle of "White Out" here somewhere.
Maybe I'll use that. ;)

Thanks for the assist, Bluefang.

Thanks muchly, Gingerbread Guy.
Worked like a charm.
Looks a lot cleaner now.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

karenanne
 
Posts: 489
Joined: September 18th, 2004, 5:16 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 12:06 pm

I'm a little confused. I would like to remove the new tab button, but keep the drop down list. How do I do that? Thanks.

karenanne
 
Posts: 489
Joined: September 18th, 2004, 5:16 am

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 12:07 pm

By the way, a pox on lower contrast between text and background, as the forum has moved to. Not all of us have twenty year old eyes, folks.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 37580
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 12:14 pm

Hi Karenanne,
D/L & install the extension that LN posted..
> https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/10535

Have you tried changing the screen settings re; Contrast/Brightness?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-56.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: FFman, Google [Bot], Negativeions and 17 guests