MozillaZine

Firefox 3.5 FAQ: Look here first!

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted June 30th, 2009, 2:28 pm


"Messed up" bookmark bar

Download and install this extension https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/11325

Tab Issues

Closing last tab closes Firefox
1) In the location (address) bar, type about:config
2) In the filter box, type browser.tabs.closeWindowWithLastTab
3) Change this to false.

This is expected behavior.

Moved tab becomes a new window (Tab Tear)
A tab was closed and opened again in a new window.
When you move a tab off the tabstrip Firefox will open that tab in a new window. This action can be undone by dragging the tab in the new window back to the original tabstrip. This is expected behavior.
To turn off or toggle this feature download this extension: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/12276

Remove New Tab Button
How to remove the new tab button that is to the right of tabs.
Download and install this extension https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/10535

Put Close button back on last tab

Note- you will need to add the following to the userChrome.css file in your profile.
Also see Closing last tab closes Firefox if you do not want this to also close Firefox.
See http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css to find this file.
See section 4 of this post viewtopic.php?p=3519925#p3519925 for editing instructions.

Code: Select all
/* Show Close Button On Last Tab */
.tabbrowser-tabs[closebuttons="alltabs"] > .tabbrowser-tab > .tab-close-button {
display: -moz-box !important;
}
.tabbrowser-tabs:not([closebuttons="noclose"]):not([closebuttons="closeatend"]) > .tabbrowser-tab[selected="true"] > .tab-close-button {
display: -moz-box !important;
}


Start up issues

Slow start up
Windows only

Update to V 3.5.1
If you are seeing abnormally slow start up times when you first start Firefox delete the temporary internet files in I.E.
Also see: viewtopic.php?p=6869765#p6869765

Another work around to this problem was posted to the above on July 6th.

The recommended work around follows:
Windows let's the user control the maximum amount of disk space used for the "Temporary Internet Files". The default setting is extremely generous. On my old 250GB drive, it was over 8GB. Setting it down to say 100MB or 200MB should REALLY help reduce the sheer number of files to be scanned.

To adjust that, go to Control Panel, Internet Options, General Tab.
Under the Temporary Internet Files heading, click the "Settings" button.
Change the number under "Amount of disk space to use" to 100 or 200.
Click OK. Then, back in the Internet Options, General tab, under the Temporary Internet Files heading, click the "Delete Files" button.
Put a check in the box that says "Delete all offline content". Click OK.
Click OK to dismiss the Internet Options panel.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted August 13th, 2009, 11:55 am

67splitscreen -- split off your message to a new thread
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1419345&start=0
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38514
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted August 21st, 2009, 12:11 am

IN FRENCH PLEASE...
I split your post off to here...
> viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1435415&p=7304875#p7304875
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123042
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted August 23rd, 2009, 7:01 pm

redblanchard,
I split your question to it's own topic here: viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1441145
This topic is not for asking support questions but for getting information before you ask.

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted August 31st, 2009, 8:39 am

doggeddog-

I split your question off the here. viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1456905
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38514
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted September 4th, 2009, 7:08 am

ofczi...
Your post is now here...
> viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1465255
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted October 17th, 2009, 12:57 pm

Unstickyed.
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests