MozillaZine

Firefox 3.5 Excessive CPU/Memory Usage(Copernic issue)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
reft
 
Posts: 110
Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:07 pm

Post Posted July 6th, 2009, 2:18 am

I have seen a number of posts stating that Firefox 3.5 on Windows does not exit properly (it has to be ended from Task Manager), and/or that it will not start. I believe that they may well be the same issue - Firefox will not re-start because it has not yet quit from the previous run. I have experienced these symptoms myself since upgrading. I have seen a separate post saying that Firefox grabs excessive mounts of CPU usage after a period of inactivity. I have experienced that, too. I have also noted that the memory footprint/usage changes dramatically over time. An example - when I first started Firefox this morning it did not start, but showed as using 21,500 K memory. I ended the process and restarted it. It then used 65,636 K (that was at 7:35 am). I was on the index page of this forum (the only open page). Without any further activity on the computer, when I returned to it at 9:29 am the memory usage was up to 108,568 K.

It occurs to me (guided by various responses) that this could be an extensions issue. So I thought I'd list my extensions, and see if anyone else is experiencing similar issues with the same extensions. A little bit of history first: I had removed the Skype extension a few weeks before upgrading. After upgrading I removed Forecastbar Enhanced and the .NET Framework Assistant (v1.0) extension (per the guidelines at: http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article08-600 and http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/ms-dotnet-firefox.html). I am left with the following extensions, some of which I have disabled to see if I can stop FF grabbing all the cycles on one of my CPU cores:

Ant Toolbar 1.3 (Disabled by FF as incompatible with 3.5)
British English Dictionary 1.19 (Enabled)
Cooliris 1.11 (Enabled)
Copernic Desktop Search - Home Connector 1.0.0.30 (Disabled. This is the most recent 'disable' I have done, and my CPU over usage issue may have gone away as a result)
DownThemAll 1.1.4 (Enabled)
Forecastfox 0.9.10.1 (Enabled)
Hyperwords 5.5.4 (Disabled)
Tab Mix Plus 0.3.7.4pre.090516 (Enabled)
Weave 0.4.0 (Disabled)
WOT 20090414 (Enabled)
Xmarks 3.1.1 (Enabled)

I am running on Windows Vista SP2 (32 bit), 4Gb RAM, Intel Pentium Dual E2180 @ 2GHz.

Do others having the same issues have similar extension lists?

I believe that disabling an extension may not stop it misbehaving, but I do want my extensions...

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2627
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 6th, 2009, 3:21 am

Firefox not exiting properly may be due to Cooliris or other extensions. Try updating or temporarily disabling all extensions. For other causes, read:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Firefox_hangs#Hang_at_exit

Firefox 3.5 not starting or taking a very long time to start may be a separate issue.
See:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Browser_will_not_start_up#Firefox_3.5_delayed_startup
Last edited by Alice on July 6th, 2009, 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Alice Wyman

MHeidinger
Guest
 

Post Posted July 6th, 2009, 3:34 am

I have not installed most of the Add-Ons you have, but I have experienced the same problem. The problem was gone once I disabled the Copernic Desktop Search Home connector so you can assume this one is causing the problem.
I have already escalated this to Copernic support but not received any reply yet. I will post further information here once I have got reply from Copernic.

hazizo
 
Posts: 5
Joined: July 2nd, 2009, 9:03 am

Post Posted July 6th, 2009, 4:52 am

I've got none of the mentioned addons, yet i still experience the same symptoms you are describing

natgild
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 20th, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted July 6th, 2009, 6:16 am

I am having the same CPU issues that started when I upgraded to firefox 3.5.

Of the adons above, I have

WOT
Copernic Desktop Search
Xmarks

I disabled WOT first and it "seems" to have solved the problem for me.

reft
 
Posts: 110
Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:07 pm

Post Posted July 6th, 2009, 9:34 am

Well, since disabling the Copernic add-on, I have not had the excessive CPU usage problem. Memory usage seems erratic, however. When I just closed down FF the memory it was using was at 180,896 K. Restarting and loading the exact same pages, the usage is hovering at between 102,764 K and 114180 K.

reft
 
Posts: 110
Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:07 pm

Post Posted July 7th, 2009, 2:06 am

For people who are using Comodo firewall, there may be an answer to this problem at: viewtopic.php?f=38&t=1338785&p=6892805#p6892805 .

natgild
 
Posts: 10
Joined: August 20th, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted July 7th, 2009, 5:52 am

Oops, disabling WOT did not stop my excessive CPU use.

MHeidinger
Guest
 

Post Posted July 7th, 2009, 6:25 am

try copernic ... i a rather sure this will help

reft
 
Posts: 110
Joined: March 11th, 2003, 1:07 pm

Post Posted July 7th, 2009, 10:55 am

Disabling the Corpernic add-on seemed to stop the excessive CPU usage for me. Memory usage still seems high (and increases over time), though.

rcharif
Guest
 

Post Posted July 9th, 2009, 6:59 am

After I upgraded to 3.5 (on WinXP Pro), I would see CPU usage jump to 50% and stay there after FF had been running for a while. Also, memory usage steadily crept up (e.g. 89,000 K -> 109,000 K in 15 minutes of no activity with a single simple tab open). Quitting left the firefox.exe process running, which had to be killed via Task Manager. Clued in by some posts above I started playing with turning add-ons off and on. Culprit turned out to be Copernic Home Connector (which I have no recollection of ever explicitly installing). Cooliris was not a problem. Now-- does anyone know how to Uninstall (not just Disable) Copernic?

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2627
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted July 9th, 2009, 7:08 am

rcharif wrote:Now-- does anyone know how to Uninstall (not just Disable) Copernic?


If "Tools -> Add-ons -> Extensions" lets you disable, but not uninstall, then it may be one of the extensions that some programs install via the Windows Registry. See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Uninstalling_add-ons#Windows_Registry_extension
Alice Wyman

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38844
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 9th, 2009, 7:11 am

You should be able to remove it via the Control Panel > Add & Remove.......
Check with Copernic?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Gracie44
Guest
 

Post Posted July 9th, 2009, 5:11 pm

Can uninstall Copernic itself via Add/Remove, but not the Copernic FF add-on.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted July 13th, 2009, 10:38 am

Gracie44 wrote:Can uninstall Copernic itself via Add/Remove, but not the Copernic FF add-on.


Hmm. What happens if you go into Copernic options and uncheck the option to index Firefox content? Does that uninstall the extension or allow you to do so?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests