User Help for Mozilla Firefox

Post Posted July 16th, 2009, 12:59 pm

What is FreeCause? I am in a program, things going just fine and all of a sudden this search engine looking page comes up and it's "FreeCause" .. on the address bar it says http://rumo. **** etc ..
This is a royal pain in the butt since it kicks you out of the program you were in, so if you hit the back button you have to reload. What is this and how do I get rid of it? If it's part of FireFox I don't need it and I'll dump FireFox in a heartbeat. Thanks ..


User avatar
Posts: 39391
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted July 16th, 2009, 1:05 pm

FreeCause is definitely not a part of a standard Firefox.
It seems to be a toolbar and/or search engine which had to be installed into firefox.
Google for "freecause firefox" and you will see a few options.

Where did you get firefox from?
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.


Post Posted July 16th, 2009, 1:15 pm

Downloaded from Mozilla. This just started the last few days. Have no idea where it came from. Thanks .


User avatar
Posts: 25939
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted July 16th, 2009, 4:42 pm

Sounds like a Ad page of sorts that can pop up on some sites as a form of revenue.
(* is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.


Post Posted October 16th, 2010, 7:42 pm

hey guys i think i found the issue i uninstalled zylom toolbar and now it seems to be working! try it :D


User avatar
Posts: 109475
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 16th, 2010, 8:50 pm

Thank you for your report.

The thread you posted to died out more than a year ago. Locking this now due to the age of the original posts.

Return to Firefox Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests