MozillaZine

Firefox is having trouble recovering your windows and tabs..

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
CassHW
Guest
 

Post Posted August 5th, 2009, 2:34 am

Hi there,
since I've upgraded to FF 3.5.2, each time I start FF I get the message:

Well, this is embarrassing.

Firefox is having trouble recovering your windows and tabs. This is usually
caused by a recently opened web page.

etc..

I saw that it is a reported bug there https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=502865

is there a solution/patch?

it is very annoying!
thank you

SK.
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted August 6th, 2009, 8:21 am

Which URLs?
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13

davolente
 
Posts: 36
Joined: June 1st, 2005, 1:53 pm

Post Posted August 8th, 2009, 10:45 am

The reference seems to be KDE on Linux but I get the same and I'm on XP. Any URL.

SK.
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted August 8th, 2009, 10:49 am

There could be an extension in the way. Which Firefox extensions?
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13

Gort51
Guest
 

Post Posted August 14th, 2009, 6:10 pm

I too just got that message.
I am running FireFox 3.5.2 and during my last session the browser crashed. There may have been some type of pop-up or redirecting link on my last page page. on the new session, I clicked the Home icon on the Navigation Bar and all is good.

Well, this is embarrassing.
Firefox is having trouble recovering your windows and tabs. This is usually caused by a recently opened web page.
You can try:
* Removing one or more tabs that you think may be causing the problem
* Starting an entirely new browsing session

SK.
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted August 14th, 2009, 7:03 pm

Gort51: These topics can get very confused if more than one person is helped. Please start a new topic so we can help both of you better. Thanks.
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13

lasherxxxxxx
Guest
 

Post Posted August 17th, 2009, 6:17 am

It seems to me to that all users with similar problems should post to a common thread. If only one person can occupy a thread doesn't that defeat the whole purpose? Anyway, same problem here. I've installed 3.5.2 on 3 different machines - two are brand new of the box no extensions - and get this error every time. Vista64 on one machine, XP Pro and XP Home on the other two.

Thanks

Daifne
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122742
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 9:17 pm
Location: Where the Waters Meet, Wisconsin

Post Posted August 17th, 2009, 6:20 am

No, it does not defeat the whole purpose. It only makes it more difficult for everyone to follow. "Similar" problems or even the "same" problem may not be related at all. There are way too many variables, including the computer that each is using, the programs installed, any extensions installed and so on. We don't ask people to start new topics just to be difficult. We do it to be able to help each of you better.
JE SUIS CHARLIE
“If you make people think they're thinking, they'll love you; but if you really make them think, they'll hate you.” ― Harlan Ellison
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

Roger5699
Guest
 

Post Posted August 22nd, 2009, 8:48 pm

I am having the same problem with Windows XP and a recently installed FF 3.5.2. The problem never occurred with previous versions of FF and I am doing my usual things while logged on and while on the internet. Instead of quibbling about how many people with the same problem should be involved in this, why not focus on what it is in FF 3.5.2 that is not in earlier versions of FF that is causing this?

Roger5699
Guest
 

Post Posted August 22nd, 2009, 8:54 pm

Anonymous wrote:I am having the same problem with Windows XP and a recently installed FF 3.5.2. The problem never occurred with previous versions of FF and I am doing my usual things while logged on and while on the internet. Instead of quibbling about how many people with the same problem should be involved in this, why not focus on what it is in FF 3.5.2 that is not in earlier versions of FF that is causing this?
If it matters, my computer is a Lenovo X61 running Windows XP Professional.

SK.
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted August 23rd, 2009, 2:31 pm

Roger5699: Did you miss Daifne's posts above? Please start your own topic thread.
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13

Roger5699
Guest
 

Post Posted August 23rd, 2009, 3:35 pm

I did read Daifne's and your posts which is not necessarily the same as agreeing with them. I agree with "lasher". But I guess you and Daifne are running this so I'll start a new thread If I can figure out how to.

SK.
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 20750
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:28 pm
Location: Third Rock From The Sun

Post Posted August 23rd, 2009, 3:49 pm

It's not that Daifne and I are "running this." There are rules to this little community and we expect all who visit to abide by them.

To start a new topic, click on the [New Topic*] button at the top of any forum topic list page.
John 3:16 and Philippians 4:13

Moderbator
Guest
 

Post Posted August 29th, 2009, 8:10 am

This thread is about the 'embarrassing' error in firefox, and applies to anyone who has the error, myself included. Does anyone REALLY think that having 100+ threads from different people about the same error is a smart way to handle this? Ridiculous. This thread is about the firefox error, not one single person who's getting it.

I've read that this might be caused by having a whole lot of tabs open at some point, and from then on you are stuck with this error. That's how it's worked in my experience and I've had this error ever since this new version came out. Without fail, when I start firefox for the first time it takes about 90 seconds for it to come up, then I get the embarrassing error, then it goes ahead and loads the pages anyway like there was no problem.

D3FC0N
Guest
 

Post Posted September 8th, 2009, 6:41 pm

I too just got that error.
Wasn't running anything in particular, standard extensions such as adblock, fb toolbar...
Only had this since 3.5.2

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 16 guests