MozillaZine

New tab problem?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
walkerpbus

User avatar
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 2:11 pm
Location: Duncanville, TX, USA

Post Posted September 12th, 2009, 3:02 pm

This was posted in the Thunderbird support, but as I explained the problem, I suddenly thought that it might be a Firefox problem. Here it is: This only happens on 1 machine, so that makes it suspicious. I've just reinstalled Firefox on that machine, but it happened before the reinstall to my wife. Anyway, ordinarily, you click on a link in a TB message, it opens up a new tab in FF. (However, there's another problem with FF opening up a new tab with Roboform (my password-login program) so maybe I'll copy this to the FF support forum.
Any ideas on this problem? Thanks for any suggestions. [SOLVED---see my last post below] =D>
Last edited by walkerpbus on September 15th, 2009, 1:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Win 10 Pro desktop, but now 64-bit latest Windows 10. Usually latest or latest-1 Thunderbird on this machines.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53137
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2009, 3:33 pm

The pref ''browser.link.open_external'' has been removed in the 3.5 version, so it is no longer possible to specify how to open links from another application.

See "_blank in same tab, external links in new tab":
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1032625
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1032625&p=6961045#p6961045

walkerpbus

User avatar
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 2:11 pm
Location: Duncanville, TX, USA

Post Posted September 14th, 2009, 9:13 am

After look at this and all the sub-links you listed, I'm still confused sir...the function seems to work fine on 2 machines...the Thunderbird links on the machine in question don't even open a FF link. Looking at one of the sub-links, do I middle click on Thunderbird or Roboform? I'm not even sure they would honor a middle click ! :?: :?:
Win 10 Pro desktop, but now 64-bit latest Windows 10. Usually latest or latest-1 Thunderbird on this machines.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53137
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted September 14th, 2009, 2:09 pm

If links in Thunderbird do not open Firefox then make sure that Firefox is the default browser and the protocol or file link that you click in Thunderbird is associated with Firefox.
See http://kb.mozillazine.org/Default_browser

walkerpbus

User avatar
 
Posts: 1188
Joined: August 15th, 2004, 2:11 pm
Location: Duncanville, TX, USA

Post Posted September 15th, 2009, 12:53 pm

I checked over the FF settings, and I think everything is behaving properly now. :D How do I close the topic? :?:
Win 10 Pro desktop, but now 64-bit latest Windows 10. Usually latest or latest-1 Thunderbird on this machines.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53137
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted September 15th, 2009, 1:20 pm

You can't close a topic, but you can edit your first post in this thread and add [SOLVED]

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests