MozillaZine

Blank Popup Window

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
lkh128
 
Posts: 16
Joined: October 3rd, 2008, 9:36 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2009, 8:52 am

Until recently, when I do my online banking and click, for instance, on billpayer a new window would pop up and I would be able to pay my bills. Recently, however, when I click on the same button, the new window pops up but it is a complete blank and I can't do anything. It works fine on IE but I hate using IE and would prefer to continue using Firefox. Anyone know what's gone wrong?

DrEdwardo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2009, 1:46 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2009, 2:02 pm

lkh128 wrote:Until recently, when I do my online banking and click, for instance, on billpayer a new window would pop up and I would be able to pay my bills. Recently, however, when I click on the same button, the new window pops up but it is a complete blank and I can't do anything. It works fine on IE but I hate using IE and would prefer to continue using Firefox. Anyone know what's gone wrong?
I'm experiencing the same phenomenon.

Edwardo
Life is too short to repeat hackneyed clichés

LoudNoise
New Member

User avatar
 
Posts: 40048
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted December 10th, 2009, 2:03 pm

Clear your cache. Tools --> Options --> Advanced --> Network, Clear Now button.

If you are still having problems delete any cookies that have to do with the site. Tools --> Options --> Privacy, Show Cookies button

If you are not using Windows see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Menu_differen ... x,_and_Mac
Post wrangler
"Choose between the Food Select Feature or other Functions. If no food or function is chosen, Toast is the default."

DrEdwardo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2009, 1:46 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2009, 2:20 pm

LoudNoise wrote:Clear your cache. Tools --> Options --> Advanced --> Network, Clear Now button.

If you are still having problems delete any cookies that have to do with the site. Tools --> Options --> Privacy, Show Cookies button

If you are not using Windows see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Menu_differen ... x,_and_Mac



I had already cleared cache and deleted *all* cookies. Pop up windows from *any* site are both untitled and blank. New tabs in same window, or new windows (when invoking a new instantiation of firefox) are fine. Firefox 3.5.2 Windows XP Pro :-k

Edwardo
Life is too short to repeat hackneyed clichés

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53218
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2009, 2:29 pm

You can start Firefox in Safe mode to check if your problem is caused by an extension or theme (switch to the DEFAULT theme).
If starting in Safe-mode works then disable your extensions (Tools > Add-ons > Extensions or use the option in the Safe-mode window) and re-enable them one by one until you find which one is causing it.
Close and restart Firefox after each change.
See Standard diagnostic - Firefox: Extension issues

DrEdwardo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2009, 1:46 pm

Post Posted December 10th, 2009, 3:58 pm

dickvl wrote:You can start Firefox in Safe mode to check if your problem is caused by an extension or theme (switch to the DEFAULT theme).
If starting in Safe-mode works then disable your extensions (Tools > Add-ons > Extensions or use the option in the Safe-mode window) and re-enable them one by one until you find which one is causing it.
Close and restart Firefox after each change.
See Standard diagnostic - Firefox: Extension issues

I was hoping I wasn't going to have to do this as I have a gagillion add-ons and thought someone would have had an idea of typical culprits.

Well many restarts later, the culprit, at least for me, was Torbutton (v 1.2.3). It had been working previously, so it must be interacting with an update of one of my other (gagillion) extensions.

Edwardo
Life is too short to repeat hackneyed clichés

lkh128
 
Posts: 16
Joined: October 3rd, 2008, 9:36 am

Post Posted December 10th, 2009, 7:57 pm

[quote=the culprit, at least for me, was Torbutton (v 1.2.3). It had been working previously, so it must be interacting with an update of one of my other (gagillion) extensions.[/quote]

Now that you mention it, I believe the culprit is indeed the Torbutton. I now recall not having any problem prior to updating the Torbutton.

Thank you.

mikeperry
Guest
 

Post Posted December 11th, 2009, 3:31 pm

Hi, I am the Torbutton developer.

Can anyone provide me with a public website or example of this issue? I did have a regression where this happened with blogger.com after fixing another bug, but I fixed that one prior to releasing 1.2.3. I am at a loss as to why this may still be happening for certain types of popups. The ones I have encountered work with 1.2.3.

mikeperry
Guest
 

Post Posted December 11th, 2009, 3:43 pm

mikeperry wrote:Hi, I am the Torbutton developer.

Can anyone provide me with a public website or example of this issue? I did have a regression where this happened with blogger.com after fixing another bug, but I fixed that one prior to releasing 1.2.3. I am at a loss as to why this may still be happening for certain types of popups. The ones I have encountered work with 1.2.3.


FYI I have filed bug 1169 on the bug tracker for this: https://bugs.torproject.org/flyspray/in ... ls&id=1169

DrEdwardo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2009, 1:46 pm

Post Posted December 11th, 2009, 5:06 pm

mikeperry wrote:Hi, I am the Torbutton developer.

Can anyone provide me with a public website or example of this issue? I did have a regression where this happened with blogger.com after fixing another bug, but I fixed that one prior to releasing 1.2.3. I am at a loss as to why this may still be happening for certain types of popups. The ones I have encountered work with 1.2.3.


Basically, this was happening for any javascript initiated pop-up window. But two examples include: salesforce.com, bmo.com

Ed
Life is too short to repeat hackneyed clichés

mikeperry
Guest
 

Post Posted December 12th, 2009, 4:59 pm

DrEdwardo wrote:Basically, this was happening for any javascript initiated pop-up window. But two examples include: salesforce.com, bmo.com

Ed


I've tested Torbutton 1.2.3 on Firefox 3.0.15 and 3.5.5 on Linux on the "Rate this page" popup in the top of salesforce.com, and on the "search" popup in the upper right corner of bmo.com. Both work just fine for me. In addition, I've tested all the popups on the following pages, some of which firefox blocks, but all those that it does not block appear to work:

http://blazonry.com/javascript/windows.php
http://www.globalrph.com/davescripts/popup.htm
http://www.javascript-coder.com/window- ... open.phtml

This was done with Tor enabled, btw. Do any of these break for you? If so, which ones, which firefox version, which OS, and is Tor enabled or disabled?

mikeperry
Guest
 

Post Posted December 14th, 2009, 12:47 pm

The most recent comment on the Tor bug tracker indicates that this may be a conflict with Google Toolbar and Torbutton.

Do all of you above have Google Toolbar installed, or is there possibly another conflict too?

DrEdwardo

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: April 30th, 2009, 1:46 pm

Post Posted December 14th, 2009, 2:06 pm

mikeperry wrote:The most recent comment on the Tor bug tracker indicates that this may be a conflict with Google Toolbar and Torbutton.

Do all of you above have Google Toolbar installed, or is there possibly another conflict too?


I have and use the google toolbar.

mikeperry wrote:
DrEdwardo wrote:Basically, this was happening for any and all javascript initiated pop-up window. But two examples include: salesforce.com, bmo.com

Ed


I've tested Torbutton 1.2.3 on Firefox 3.0.15 and 3.5.5 on Linux on the "Rate this page" popup in the top of salesforce.com, and on the "search" popup in the upper right corner of bmo.com. Both work just fine for me. In addition, I've tested all the popups on the following pages, some of which firefox blocks, but all those that it does not block appear to work:

http://blazonry.com/javascript/windows.php
http://www.globalrph.com/davescripts/popup.htm
http://www.javascript-coder.com/window- ... open.phtml

This was done with Tor enabled, btw. Do any of these break for you? If so, which ones, which firefox version, which OS, and is Tor enabled or disabled?


Windows XP Pro. FF 3.5.5. Tor disabled.
Life is too short to repeat hackneyed clichés

future123
Guest
 

Post Posted December 14th, 2009, 3:09 pm

SAme problem for me.

I had TORBUTTON 1.2.3 installed and Google Toolbar.

Just remover TORBUTTON 1.2.3. and my javascript windows are now opening fine again!

mikeperry
Guest
 

Post Posted December 14th, 2009, 4:34 pm

Ok cool. I have a fix xpi that works for me for the Linux version of Google Toolbar. If you guys could please test it out and report back with success, failure, or any other issues, I would appreciate it.

It is in the attachments tab of the bug:
https://bugs.torproject.org/flyspray/in ... ments#tabs

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests