MozillaZine

Embedded Windows Media/Launch.com in Firefox 1.0

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
S.A.M.

User avatar
 
Posts: 25
Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:58 pm
Location: The Plains of Texas

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 10:44 am

Vectorspace wrote:Do you have any kind of ad blocking, or anything that could block content on a page from loading? If so, try disabling it.


I removed all extensions, except: Sage 1.3, Gmail Notifier 0.3.3 and ChromEdit 0.1.1.1

I rolledback the WMP to the original, version 8.0 .

Still no video :I

Old RPGM35
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 11:58 am

Maxdout38 wrote:RPGMaker35 wrote:
whenever i go to http://tsn.ca/ , FF says The active X plugin caused an error and advises me to restart. what's the problem?

EDIT: also, when attempting to view a movie, it gets stuck on a flash movie lot loaded error. i've waited about 10 mins, and nothing :/

EDIT2: nvm i had obj-TABS enabled

EDIT3: ok, now i stlll cant get movies to load on tsn.ca

You need to be registered with http://tsn.ca to view the video's so I can't test them. The "The active X plugin caused an error and advises me to restart" problem sounds similar to one that involved Firefox running an incompatable version of the plugin. What version of Firefox and what version of the plugin are you using?

My Issue: (Maxdout38)

I went to that site and the videos would not load for me.

I have the active X loaded alo tried the User Agent Switcher to change to Internet exploer and Ad-blocker Obj-Tabs unchecked?

Any suggestions?

can anyone help with that. seems in IE, it loads a flash advertisment, then the video. i have these extentions:
Web devleoper
Things They Left out
IE view
bookmark backup
BugMeNot
Image Zoom
Undoclosetab
Statusbar clock
Reload Every
Mozilla calander
Show old extentions
Chatzilla
SpellBound
FireFTP
foxy tunes
Smooth wheel
Mouse guestures
MiniT
ChromEdit
Adblock
Bandwith tester

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 1:29 pm

S.A.M. wrote:
Vectorspace wrote:Do you have any kind of ad blocking, or anything that could block content on a page from loading? If so, try disabling it.



I also disabled the firewall to see if that was blocking anything from the website -- same results no video.

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 2:21 pm

To all those having issues playing video's: Test the ActiveX installation here: http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/wmp_movies.htm
Select the Harry Potter trailer (the others appear to be broken). If the video loads and plays, ActiveX is installed correctly and your problem must be something else.
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

buddy779
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 9th, 2004, 9:23 pm

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 2:50 pm

Vectorspace wrote:To all those having issues playing video's: Test the ActiveX installation here: http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/wmp_movies.htm
Select the Harry Potter trailer (the others appear to be broken). If the video loads and plays, ActiveX is installed correctly and your problem must be something else.
When trying the ActiveX test. I get WMP 10 to pop up. WMP says says "connecting", then "connecting to media". The Web page says "Transitioning", but the view window stays black. Then WMP says "Ready" and the web page says "Status: 10". The window stays black. I have AdBlock disabled. Any suggestions?
Last edited by buddy779 on November 21st, 2004, 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Old RPGM35
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 3:07 pm

Vectorspace wrote:To all those having issues playing video's: Test the ActiveX installation here: http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/wmp_movies.htm
Select the Harry Potter trailer (the others appear to be broken). If the video loads and plays, ActiveX is installed correctly and your problem must be something else.
i got that to work(well, at least the green warning came up)

AnonEmoose
 
Posts: 2031
Joined: February 6th, 2004, 11:59 am

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 3:38 pm

RPGMaker35 wrote:
Vectorspace wrote:To all those having issues playing video's: Test the ActiveX installation here: http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/wmp_movies.htm
Select the Harry Potter trailer (the others appear to be broken). If the video loads and plays, ActiveX is installed correctly and your problem must be something else.
i got that to work(well, at least the green warning came up)
This is not a good test UNLESS u have wmp9 or higher installed... use this link instead http://www.accuradio.com/#

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 4:21 pm

Hello ,I am a relative newbie, but am thrilled with firefox and the help available. I just followed the instructions for the activex and it worked like a charm,.Many thanks!

Old RPGM35
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 5:32 pm

AnonEmoose wrote:
RPGMaker35 wrote:
Vectorspace wrote:To all those having issues playing video's: Test the ActiveX installation here: http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/wmp_movies.htm
Select the Harry Potter trailer (the others appear to be broken). If the video loads and plays, ActiveX is installed correctly and your problem must be something else.
i got that to work(well, at least the green warning came up)
This is not a good test UNLESS u have wmp9 or higher installed... use this link instead http://www.accuradio.com/#
i got that to play, but i don't know if it worked because i had sound off

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 7:39 pm

I've been trying out firefox today and found that the main problem i was having was getting on to launch. Thanks to this page, i have now succesfully manged to use the site.
Shon's advice, i believe, is essential.

Skizziks

User avatar
 
Posts: 28
Joined: June 30th, 2004, 12:57 am

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 10:02 pm

S.A.M. wrote:Open FF 1.0 selected User Agent Switcher and selected IE


No, User Agent Switcher should be set to Netscape 7.1

Skizziks

User avatar
 
Posts: 28
Joined: June 30th, 2004, 12:57 am

Post Posted November 21st, 2004, 10:14 pm

Great work guys! Launch.com vidoes are now working great. Another site that now works is the spiketv.com video commentaries for Joe Schmo 2:

http://www.spiketv.com/shows/series/joe ... tary.jhtml

It says that I don't have the plugin, but if I click "get the plugin" it just goes ahead and plays the video.

I was hoping it would work for mtv.com, but it crashes Firefox. Anyone get mtv.com to work?

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 22nd, 2004, 12:00 am

Hi,
Thanks alot for helping out.
I got Firefox to work on launch.com however MTV wont work.
MTV says that I dont have the media player plugin. (Their help section says they've got real and wmp files there, but I havent run into a .rm file yet) I tried reinstalling WMP10, but it still wont detect. I've tried rebooting and what-not, but nothing.
Any help would be appreciated.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted November 22nd, 2004, 12:09 am

OK,
I you can ignore my post about MTV.com not working.
I foung a work-around. When I click on a musicn video link a window pops up which supposed to have the media player in it, or the error messages, as the case may be. I found that if I ignore the message in this window when it pops up first asking me to install Media Player and click on the link to music video again, the video will start playing.
I'm pretty sure there's a more elegant solution, but I'll leave that to the pros:)

Vectorspace
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 14455
Joined: November 27th, 2003, 4:50 am
Location: Warwickshire, UK

Post Posted November 22nd, 2004, 12:29 am

buddy779 wrote:When trying the ActiveX test. I get WMP 10 to pop up. WMP says says "connecting", then "connecting to media". The Web page says "Transitioning", but the view window stays black. Then WMP says "Ready" and the web page says "Status: 10". The window stays black. I have AdBlock disabled. Any suggestions?


You have to select the Harry Potter trailer on the left, then press the play button below. The others will just say "Status: 10" - I think they are broken.
"All things being equal, the simplest answer is usually the correct one" - Occam's Razor
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/5.0
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:5.0) Gecko/20110624 Thunderbird/5.0

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests