MozillaZine

how do i change my default search provider?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
kurt-2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 9:19 am

Post Posted April 12th, 2010, 6:25 am

Somehow my default search provider has been changed and I need to change it back. Can you please send instructions -

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107761
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted April 12th, 2010, 6:27 am

Moving to Firefox Support.

Are you referring to the default search engine displayed in the search field at the top right of the browser window, or to the location bar search process?

kurt-2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 9:19 am

Post Posted April 12th, 2010, 7:37 am

thanks for the quick reply - on the login screen - it's immediately under the username and password ribbons.

kurt-2
 
Posts: 83
Joined: August 27th, 2009, 9:19 am

Post Posted April 12th, 2010, 7:39 am

oops sorry - getting my questions mixed up. it's the default search engine - to the right of the address bar.

But I think I figured out the problem. I had the AOL Toolbar lurking in the background and that kept changing my default back to the AOL search engine.

Now that I've removed the soltware it seems to be working.

Thanks

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107761
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted April 12th, 2010, 10:53 am

You're welcome.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], sunfishy and 16 guests