Sony Bravia PC_to_TV Plug in

User Help for Mozilla Firefox

Post Posted May 3rd, 2010, 11:48 am

Hi, I'm trying to get the sony plug in working for firefox. According to their website this is still in beta and is unsupported.

I've downloaded the firefox plug in from ... country=GB

When I try to open the file the error message below appears. Any help would be great

This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.

<RDF:Description RDF:about="rdf:#$B.2bZ2" em:id="{ec8030f7-c20a-464f-9b0e-13a3a9e97384}" em:minVersion="0.5" em:maxVersion="2.0.0.*"/>

<RDF:Description RDF:about="urn:mozilla:install-manifest" em:id="{28FD7727-2869-472e-8FC7-A683AF33A841}" em:name="Send from PC to TV" em:version="0.7.1 (Beta)" em:creator="Sony Electronics Inc." em:description="Send Video Links to Sony TV (BIVL)" em:homepageURL="" em:updateURL="" em:optionsURL="chrome://sendfrompc2tv/content/sendfrompc2tvOptions.xul" em:aboutURL="chrome://sendfrompc2tv/content/sendfrompc2tvAbout.xul">
<em:targetApplication RDF:resource="rdf:#$B.2bZ2"/>


User avatar
Posts: 31246
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted May 3rd, 2010, 12:50 pm

That is an ancient plugin, made in 2008, and is for Firefox 1.5 thru the Firefox 2.0.0.x versions. See the install.rdf file for that information.

A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.


Post Posted May 3rd, 2010, 1:58 pm

Thanks for the reply... looks like we're not going to get an update

Posts: 12
Joined: November 24th, 2002, 9:40 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2010, 1:21 pm

Unfortunately the EULA prevents me from helping ;-)
But I suspect nothing major has broken, rather gecko 1.9.3 brings in a few subtle changes that the original developers depended on not changing.
I think it might be possible to unpack the extension locally as laid out here ... nvironment and go through the exceptions; however you will break the EULA.
I wonder if the original developers used unique IDs for their "menuitems"'s in their "popup" in the overlay, and I wonder why the scope of "this" isn't working in a closure. maybe you can get away with using the global variable name instead ;-)
obviously all changed named references will need to be retrospectively changed also

Return to Firefox Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests