MozillaZine

chrome://global/content/bindings/textbox.xml:51

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
earlpiggot

User avatar
 
Posts: 687
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 2:40 pm
Location: Greece

Post Posted August 20th, 2010, 2:19 am

My wife is running Firefox 3.6.8 on Windows XP Pro-SP3. As of a few days now, Firefox becomes unresponsive, together with thunderbird and within minutes the whole PC... A busy script warning window appears reffering to:
Code: Select all
chrome://global/content/bindings/textbox.xml:51


How can I trace the cause of the problem?

earlpiggot

User avatar
 
Posts: 687
Joined: May 30th, 2004, 2:40 pm
Location: Greece

Post Posted August 20th, 2010, 7:00 am

So, this must have been an HP "print on the web", or something, stupid add-on, which installed itself during a new printer setup... Disabling it, brings all back to normal.

Cabgraft4

User avatar
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 29th, 2010, 8:10 am
Location: NE England, UK.

Post Posted December 29th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Script: chrome://global/content/bindings/textbox.xml:51

Just got this myself a few minutes ago, for no apparent reason. These "script on this page is not responding" messages seem to be a part of the Firefox scene now.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38459
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted December 29th, 2010, 2:05 pm

Have you tired safe mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
Post wrangler
Notice: If you have a comment on moderation, please post here viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2706389 and don't private message a mod. I don't reply to private messages unless I have previously requested them

cdaniel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 9th, 2009, 1:22 pm

Post Posted January 5th, 2012, 9:53 am

earlpiggot wrote:So, this must have been an HP "print on the web", or something, stupid add-on, which installed itself during a new printer setup... Disabling it, brings all back to normal.
The message is one of numerous unresponsive script messages I get. I checked my add-ons and had an HP Detect add-on that had already been disabled and I am getting this message.

Firefox always had a reputation for being so stable compared to IE. Now I'm beginning to wonder.

Has anyone found a solution for all these unresponsive scripts?

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 21969
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted January 5th, 2012, 4:52 pm

The addon may have done damage to the profile that is still impacting it even though it is disabled. You may need to create a new profile:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], indigo and 19 guests