MozillaZine

what the heck is superfish??

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39062
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 20th, 2010, 10:30 am

Re; the Converter extension > viewtopic.php?p=10026665#p10026665
& it's IE Tab Plus.
Not the others.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

GuestNumberOne
Guest
 

Post Posted October 20th, 2010, 3:52 pm

VERIFIED!

It's "Converter." The ba$tards slipped it in.
It doesn't work anyways.

Deleted, destroyed, and the smear campaign for "Converter" begins.

houdini65
 
Posts: 8
Joined: March 10th, 2006, 2:58 pm

Post Posted October 22nd, 2010, 12:40 pm

wanamaker wrote:What if you don't have IE Tab? There's some other way these schmucks are getting into the browser. How do I delete this?!?!


Check the privacy policy of each addon that you have installed. I'm sure it's listed in one of them.

For a quick fix, edit your HOSTS file so that http://www.superfish.com is aimed at 127.0.0.1. This prevents it from loading. The line would look like this.



To learn where & how to edit the file, search for "edit HOSTS file", there are many sites that will help show you how. One I like is http://www.kickenhardware.net, very friendly and smart people there. Here is a link to the topic of editing your HOSTS file, but I recommend signing up first.
Edit HOSTS file

GTryder
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: April 14th, 2010, 10:52 am

Post Posted October 22nd, 2010, 1:00 pm

Spybot S&D is also capable of adding a rather comprehensive list to the "hosts" file.
Ab subabsurda numquid ad veritas. "From the somewhat absurd possibility to reality."

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39062
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 23rd, 2010, 12:35 am

GTryder wrote:Spybot S&D is also capable of adding a rather comprehensive list to the "hosts" file.


Which slows Firefox way down & is just another reason I dumped it. ;)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

GTryder
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: April 14th, 2010, 10:52 am

Post Posted October 23rd, 2010, 7:34 am

LIMPET235 wrote:
GTryder wrote:Spybot S&D is also capable of adding a rather comprehensive list to the "hosts" file.


Which slows Firefox way down & is just another reason I dumped it. ;)

Hadn't considered that it's hosts file might slow down Fx; though, I am certain that Spybot's "Immunize" feature has to be used quite selectively.
It took me some time to figure out that certain aspects of 'this' was what had been virtually locking Firefox's Tools menu; and definitely negatively affected performance, otherwise.
Ab subabsurda numquid ad veritas. "From the somewhat absurd possibility to reality."

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9736
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted October 23rd, 2010, 8:09 am

LIMPET235 wrote:
GTryder wrote:Spybot S&D is also capable of adding a rather comprehensive list to the "hosts" file.


Which slows Firefox way down & is just another reason I dumped it. ;)


Yep, things seemed to go pear shaped here when I.5 came out, back then on W2k that huge hosts file slowed things to a crawl, also with Spywareblaster installed it never found a thing.
@Interesting that 1.6, the last non Beta Spybot release came out in July 2008!
On a positive note, if one knows how to use the advanced options, I've witnessed it doing some pretty impressive nasty cleaning.
FYI here: http://blakehandler.wordpress.com/2005/ ... 5-spyware/
#KeepFightingMichael

Gopher John

User avatar
 
Posts: 1764
Joined: May 8th, 2008, 3:42 pm
Location: Northwest Ohio

Post Posted October 23rd, 2010, 9:31 am

I'm using SpyBot Search & Destroy and SpywareBlaster's full immunizations. I've experienced absolutely no slowdown at all. However, I've never used SpyBot S&D's TeaTimer. I scan my machine occasionally with MalwareBytes Free and SuperAntiSpyware Free also. None have ever found anything.

That said, SpyBot S&D 2 has been in beta darned near forever.
The significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them. - Albert Einstein

GTryder
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: April 14th, 2010, 10:52 am

Post Posted October 23rd, 2010, 9:58 am

mightyglydd wrote:@Interesting that 1.6, the last non Beta Spybot release came out in July 2008!
On a positive note, if one knows how to use the advanced options, I've witnessed it doing some pretty impressive nasty cleaning.

Yeah, I've noticed that the 'base program' looks like it might want to upgrade just about any Wednesday, soon.
Must be he is relying on those weekly updates to the definitions; though, I do seem to recall some minor program updates.

The program interface can be quite a challenge, as well; it seems in many ways to be designed as such, so people become familiar with it, first. He more than encourages reading the manual...
And there are a ton of features in those Advanced Options. Many of them fairly well hidden. It was not all that long ago that I discovered "File Sets" options; which displays (top-center section of GUI) upon an actual scan, and basically selects the depth of scan. The default setting did not seem to be "All", either.

The actual "Host File" (%SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\) additions do not seem to cause any issues on this system. I am not certain as to "how" it technically could/would, as 'all' it does is to set a localhost loopback address.

That "Immunize" feature can be a killer, though. After some research, it was observed to be a fairly well known issue, though I can't recall specifics.
I have the notion that it was designed for IE, and functions added for Firefox as more of an afterthought.
Of these four Immunize options for Firefox:
Cookies
Images
Installations
Pop-ups
I have found that only enabling "Pop-ups" seems to keep things smooth.

SpyBot S&D's TeaTimer, it's "real-time" scanner, has a few times caught less than desirable changes to the registry. Although, on a cold start, it does seem to take a while 'to get over itself'.
Ab subabsurda numquid ad veritas. "From the somewhat absurd possibility to reality."

houdini65
 
Posts: 8
Joined: March 10th, 2006, 2:58 pm

Post Posted October 24th, 2010, 6:43 pm

You really don't want a HOSTS file over 150k, in my experience, that's when things started to slow a bit.

notsohandy
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 25th, 2010, 3:26 pm

Post Posted October 25th, 2010, 3:32 pm

I had the same trouble and it was really annoying, especially when I was on eBay. Thanks to you people on this board, I fixed the problem this morning by going to IE Tab Plus and resetting it to Basic. Cleared up immediately. Thanks a lot; really appreciate this forum. :P I do not have SpyBot and, after checking on the internet, decided not to install it in the first place. :wink:

boersenfeger

User avatar
 
Posts: 36
Joined: September 1st, 2010, 3:12 am
Location: Braunschweig, Nds, Deutschland

Post Posted October 28th, 2010, 6:44 am

IE Tab Plus offers a new Version v1.96.20101021 without the Crap. :D
viewtopic.php?p=10065737#p10065737
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:65.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/65.0.1
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64; rv:67.0) Gecko/20190219 Firefox/67a1
Visit the German Firefox-Forum wwx. camp-firefox.de/forum

jimmyRRpage
 
Posts: 6
Joined: January 9th, 2007, 8:42 am

Post Posted November 6th, 2010, 5:16 pm

Hi. I'm not a new member, but I don't post that often.

It was Converter for me, too, which really depresses me because I LOVE Converter.

Is there a similar Firefox addon that doesn't include Superfish or any of that crap?

billb1970
Guest
 

Post Posted November 9th, 2010, 9:23 am

Here is the fix for Firefox the superfish problem. You don't have to delete any files and you don't have to edit the registry. Follow the steps below.
1. Select Tools
2. Select Add-ons
3. Find IE Tab Plus under Extensions
4. Select the IE Tab Plus options
5. Select Basic Mode
This will disable Windows Shopper that uses superfish. Worked fine for me
Bill

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39062
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted November 9th, 2010, 9:27 am

I think, if you re-read this thread, ^^^, you'll find that IETab Plus has been updated/fixed.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests