MozillaZine

give suggestions in the adress bar refuse to perm disable

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Bryskens
 
Posts: 115
Joined: November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 1:21 pm

Hello

I have tested windows 7! but my previous firefox settings from windows XP-32 have some troubles to accept some of the settings that i restored

every time i restart firefox 3.6.8 it have resetted "give suggestions in the adress bar" back to enable, even though i keep disabling it! ](*,)

any ideas?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 108295
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted September 3rd, 2010, 1:36 pm


Bryskens
 
Posts: 115
Joined: November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

Post Posted September 9th, 2010, 6:34 am

DanRaisch wrote:See this article -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Preferences_not_saved


It doest not going as we want here, i have renamed the prefs to prefs.jsOLD, it still refuse to change the privacy settings after the new prefs is generated
however it accept that i change the basic settings, like firefox start-up procedures, so in worst case its the "secrecy" window settings alone who have the problem??
i don't find any doublets of the prefs either, excluded that the second one is in the "default" profile

Image

any more suggestion would be appreciated

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 108295
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted September 9th, 2010, 1:19 pm

That screen shot indicates that you have two different Firefox profiles. Are you certain that you renamed the file in the correct profile?

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51515
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted September 9th, 2010, 2:37 pm

The other entries look like a FEBE backup.

Did you check for the presence of a file user.js ?

Bryskens
 
Posts: 115
Joined: November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2010, 6:19 am

DanRaisch wrote:That screen shot indicates that you have two different Firefox profiles. Are you certain that you renamed the file in the correct profile?


dickvl wrote:The other entries look like a FEBE backup.

Did you check for the presence of a file user.js ?


Yes both profiles have a "user.js"...ehhm what would happen if i deleted just them?

I have 2 profiles cause its so required to be able to restore old saved Mozilla profiles
its just that i never deleted "default" afterwards cause i where convinced that it was never to be deleted, and didn't really count as a second profile
but yes im convinced i renamed to prefs.jsOLD in the new created profile

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51515
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2010, 11:15 pm

If prefs are set via user.js then they will be restored with every start of Firefox to the values stored in user.js.
You can check the content of the file with a text editor (use Open with, do not double-click).

Bryskens
 
Posts: 115
Joined: November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 5:17 am

dickvl wrote:If prefs are set via user.js then they will be restored with every start of Firefox to the values stored in user.js.
You can check the content of the file with a text editor (use Open with, do not double-click).


That quote suggest to me there is a alternative choice rather than setting prefs via user.js? even though i don't see the alternative myself though :)
i don't know how to set prefs via user.js either :-" so i don't know what the state of the world is here

the correct user.js contains this lines
you decide if it can decide over my new saved settings in any way?

user_pref("browser.cache.memory.capacity", 65536);
user_pref("browser.chrome.favicons", false);
user_pref("browser.display.show_image_placeholders", true);
user_pref("browser.turbo.enabled", true);
user_pref("browser.urlbar.autocomplete.enabled", true);
user_pref("browser.urlbar.autofill", true);
user_pref("content.interrupt.parsing", true);
user_pref("content.max.tokenizing.time", 2250000);
user_pref("content.notify.backoffcount", 5);
user_pref("content.notify.interval", 750000);
user_pref("content.notify.ontimer", true);
user_pref("content.switch.threshold", 750000);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections", 48);
user_pref("network.http.max-connections-per-server", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-proxy", 16);
user_pref("network.http.max-persistent-connections-per-server", 8);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.firstrequest", true);
user_pref("network.http.pipelining.maxrequests", 8);
user_pref("network.http.proxy.pipelining", true);
user_pref("network.http.request.max-start-delay", 0);
user_pref("nglayout.initialpaint.delay", 0);
user_pref("plugin.expose_full_path", true);
user_pref("ui.submenuDelay", 0);

rob64rock

User avatar
 
Posts: 2122
Joined: November 11th, 2009, 6:16 am

Post Posted September 11th, 2010, 6:36 am

Bryskens wrote:Hello

I have tested windows 7! but my previous firefox settings from windows XP-32 have some troubles to accept some of the settings that i restored

every time i restart firefox 3.6.8 it have resetted "give suggestions in the adress bar" back to enable, even though i keep disabling it! ](*,)

any ideas?


After disabling it try typing about:config in urlbar, do filter search for browser.urlbar.maxRichResults and set it to 0 if isn't already. If that doesn't work disable all your extensions and re-enable them one by one to see if it's one of them causing the problem. Read this article for more help:Firefox Standard Diagnostic

Bryskens
 
Posts: 115
Joined: November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2010, 3:18 am

rob64rock wrote:
Bryskens wrote:Hello

I have tested windows 7! but my previous firefox settings from windows XP-32 have some troubles to accept some of the settings that i restored

every time i restart firefox 3.6.8 it have resetted "give suggestions in the adress bar" back to enable, even though i keep disabling it! ](*,)

any ideas?


After disabling it try typing about:config in urlbar.


I take it step by step here, since i can be so crappy to follow others =D>
first of all is it normal to not get any results at all?
spontaniosly i could only susepct its cause i didnt understand what you wanted me to do with "After disabling it" :-"
Image

Bryskens
 
Posts: 115
Joined: November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2010, 3:27 pm

rob64rock wrote:
Bryskens wrote:Hello

I have tested windows 7! but my previous firefox settings from windows XP-32 have some troubles to accept some of the settings that i restored

every time i restart firefox 3.6.8 it have resetted "give suggestions in the adress bar" back to enable, even though i keep disabling it! ](*,)

any ideas?


After disabling it try typing about:config in urlbar, do filter search for browser.urlbar.maxRichResults and set it to 0 if isn't already. If that doesn't work disable all your extensions and re-enable them one by one to see if it's one of them causing the problem. Read this article for more help:Firefox Standard Diagnostic


Anyway, we forget about transfering the old whole profile, there is obvious something wrong saved inside it, that will block the settings from ever changing,
one other thing that are corrupted anyway in this profile ONLY (most points to this at least) is freezing of all flash players like you tube, that doesn't even allow me
to ever press the pause button or moving the slider once it have started to play the clip, if i insist. the screen will refuse to ever update while the sound at the same time keeps playing correct time, the only way to break this is to hit ctrl+alt+delete, and just klick on open "task manager" then close it again with no actions taken, then the screen will release the picture
and make a giant leap forward in time =D>

The only other thing that may be why flash keeps freezing is cause my current saved session contains 4 pages, with 78 windows totally :-"
and so many pages is to tough to handle, so this will be revealed once i can load this old session into my new profile, cause then the lag
and freeze will affect the new profile also, or it will not

So i have moved on to your second experiment instead...to safe our lifetime, well i did not exactly disabled all my adds :-" ,but instead i created a new profile with FEBE
and it seems like this profile are accepting my manual setting changes!
So now i just need to do one required thing to finally being able to leave the sinking ship, im in need to locate the lines or files inside my previous profile-folder
that representing my saved passwords, and i need to transfer my old saved sessions created by "setting manager" to my new profile

can i get some guidance where thei can be find? i cant search for the answer myself in the wiki, cause i cant generaly find in manuals alone cause of my ADD :mrgreen:
Last edited by Bryskens on September 12th, 2010, 3:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 108295
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted September 12th, 2010, 3:40 pm


dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51515
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted September 12th, 2010, 4:22 pm

You need to close and restart Firefox after you make changes to browser.urlbar.maxRichResults

Firefox saves the current session state every 10 seconds to disk, so if you have a large number of tabs and windows open then that can cause interruptions in the playing of media content.
If you want to keep such large sessions then another possibility is to have a second profile with as less add-ons and other things that can cause delays or extra processing time and use that profile to play media files.
I usually do that if I want to listen to internet radio.

Bryskens
 
Posts: 115
Joined: November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

Post Posted September 13th, 2010, 8:05 am

DanRaisch wrote:See this article -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox


DanRaisch wrote:See this article -- http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... _-_Firefox


Im done, excluded being able to reload this sessions to the new profile
Image
i was testing with "Webappsstore.sqlite" but it contains the same size as on all profiles, so its not that

Bryskens
 
Posts: 115
Joined: November 4th, 2009, 6:34 am

Post Posted September 14th, 2010, 2:37 am

Bump even though i understand you are 'a bit' tired of this now :P
what file contains this sessions? i have used session manager with them, i dont know if that gained some special influence over them that would place the session file elsewhere than what
is obvious to most people ;) in that FAQ-link

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests