MozillaZine

safebrowsing-cache.google.com

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
everest
 
Posts: 97
Joined: June 13th, 2006, 8:51 am

Post Posted November 23rd, 2010, 10:22 am

i'm monitoring my net access and i see a whole bunch of hits to
this server safebrowsing-cache.google.com

i use ff and don't have google toolbar loaded...anyone know
who's initiating this.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39133
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted November 23rd, 2010, 10:48 am

Firefox uses the Google safe browsing database to protect against attack and phishing sites.
Post wrangler
“It's tough to make predictions, especially about the future.”
― Yogi Berra

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39133
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted November 23rd, 2010, 10:49 am

Moving to Firefox support.
Post wrangler
“It's tough to make predictions, especially about the future.”
― Yogi Berra

lithopsian
 
Posts: 3249
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 9:03 am

Post Posted November 23rd, 2010, 1:34 pm

The documented behaviour is to hit the site once a day and get any new sites listed there. They are stored in urlclassifier3.sqlite so every page you want to load can be checked against the list. You can turn this functionality off using the security tab in options and it should stop going to google every day. The database in my profile right now has reached 50MB, that's a lot of nasty web sites!

P.S. I just had a look in the database and it is showing 774,008 entries listed as malicious by google.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests