MozillaZine

New tab opens bing search , don't want

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
nobinginks
Guest
 

Post Posted September 22nd, 2011, 10:00 pm

Use reset as there is no delete available and it works.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted October 19th, 2011, 8:45 pm

Following one of the early posts to fix, I think my Bing Search page as the content for a New Tab came from a Skype add-in. Removing that put me back at a blank New Tab.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted October 25th, 2011, 6:52 am

If it matters any, in my case it was the "Start Now Toolbar"... I have no idea where it came from as this is a brand new clean Windows 7 machine that only had the O/S installed on it when I added Firefox.

In any event, I went to the "Add-Ons" menu option and selected extensions then just disabled "Start Now Toolbar" and exited/restarted Firefox and that got rid of the Bing page when I open a new tab.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22356
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted October 25th, 2011, 7:10 pm

Rouge toolbars are usually installed as part of another software package. Firefox is actually one of the FEW freeware applications that doesn't traffic in distributing other software for cash. Although other companies, such as Yahoo have been known to distribute copies of Firefox that include their toolbars bundled with the install... which is one of the reasons you should never ever install Firefox from any location other than the official Mozilla sites. The vast majority of these "toolbars" are considered malware and when they are detected it is recommended that you immediately do a full system malware scan.

http://bad-bytes.blogspot.com/2011/08/l ... olbar.html

Also you may have gotten it from Facebook:

http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/fa ... ffilia.php

Best way to avoid malware? Use AbBlock Plus. Advertisements are the primary mechanism for distributing malware across the internet and since the companies that sell and distribute ads refuse to do anything to change this, I refuse to allow them to pump their garbage into my machine.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

ssaraf84
Guest
 

Post Posted October 29th, 2011, 10:54 am

Guest wrote:Tools > Add-ons > Extensions > Remove oberon toolbar and restart Firefox.

THANKS A TONN!!! It was really IRRITATING to have the bing search thing on atleast 20 new tabs I need to open often when i am using my laptop...Made function slow... back to normal now! Thanks a lot.

jdude12
Guest
 

Post Posted November 15th, 2011, 9:34 pm

wake up.. Mozilla sold their soul to microsoft to make xtra money. Thats why you see bing. get rid of it all use chrome

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22356
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted November 15th, 2011, 10:18 pm

jdude12 wrote:wake up.. Mozilla sold their soul to microsoft to make xtra money. Thats why you see bing. get rid of it all use chrome


Sigh. You are aware that we can all see that you're using IE8 to troll from right? The Mozilla deal with Bing has nothing to do with this since that actually requires you to *choose to intall it from the Bing site* which says in big black letters "Firefox with Bing".
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

GaryPbbb
Guest
 

Post Posted December 29th, 2011, 2:44 pm

In my case it was an add on called Default tab 1.0

I removed it and now the blank tab comes up and the bing search box isn"t in my tab bar

scooter6172
Guest
 

Post Posted December 31st, 2011, 3:50 pm

Same problem here, except the one I disabled/uninstall was called Startnow 2.4.0. disabled and everything seems normal.

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted January 10th, 2012, 1:46 pm

theparrothead wrote:
Guest wrote:Tools > Add-ons > Extensions > Remove oberon toolbar and restart Firefox.

This worked just fine. Thank you.


Yes, this does work. It may not say oberon toolbar, though. Look for new toolbars that have been installed since Bing appeared. For mine, it was my most recently added toolbar that was the offender; removing it did the trick.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22356
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted January 10th, 2012, 3:31 pm

Guest, thanks for letting us know that you (whoever you are) fixed your problem... but it might actually be helpful to others if you told us what the name of the toolbar was.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

LyPscratch
Guest
 

Post Posted January 12th, 2012, 4:04 pm

Thank you _so_ much, Shaded! Excellent detail, and nicely written!

I notice that the system regenerates the C:\Program Files (x86)\StartNow Toolbar\Resources\update.xml file containing zugo, so that ever time I search, I get a new instance of the file.

The file contains the following content:
200 2.3 1 http://tbupdate.zugo.com/ztb/2.3/protect/?provider={provider}&provider_name={provider_name}&provider_code={provider_code}&{BASE_PARAMETERS} 1 http://tbupdate.zugo.com/ztb/2.0/reactivate/ 0 7 14

I went in and deleted some other files in the C:\Program Files (x86)\StartNow Toolbar\Resources directory. I hope I didn't kill anything.

In any case, I now get a blank page when I open a new tab in Firefox. Yay Shaded!

And though I still have this little virus-y type reactivate update.xml file on my system, I suspect that is beyond my expertise to resolve.

Just letting everyone know, and sending a special thank you again, Shaded! ~mumble mumble bing mumble~

LyPscratch
Guest
 

Post Posted January 12th, 2012, 4:07 pm

also, thank you Guest from October 19th! That is _exactly_ where this StartNow toolbar came from (the update of Skype).

JJournale
Guest
 

Post Posted January 19th, 2012, 6:36 pm

For Firefox download Add-on "NewTabURL 2.2.3" from this site: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... newtaburl/

JJournale
Guest
 

Post Posted January 19th, 2012, 6:55 pm

For Firefox to get rid of the "Bing searchbar" on a webpage when opening a new tab, download the Add-on "NewTabURL 2.2.3" from the website: [url]https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/newtaburl/[/url] After download, restart browser, and open Tools » Add-ons » Extensions » NewTabURL 2.2.3; click on "Options" button; new little window opens, choose option you want for "Default URL for new tabs", then click "Save".
THIS PROCESS SHOULD ACTUALLY TAKE ONLY ABOUT A MINUTE!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests