MozillaZine

FireFox won't display png images

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 10:36 am

Hello! This is my first post here. :)

I'm having a problem with Firefox. I just updated to 1.0 and it is not displaying .png images. I read teh FAQ and I am loading all images, not just images from the site I'm on. If I drag a png image into my browser I can see it, but I can't see it on a web page. Any ideas?

here are 2 png images:

Image

Image

Others claim they ca see the images with FF just fine.

WinLin

User avatar
 
Posts: 1230
Joined: June 19th, 2004, 2:47 am
Location: Virginia Beach, VA

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 10:40 am

I can't see those, I get an error message if I try to view them, "The requested URL /klov.com/screens/C/vCommando.png was not found on this server".
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; en-US; rv:1.7.8)
Gecko/20050511 Firefox/1.0.4 (MOOX M3)
-----------------
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7.7)
Gecko/20050421 Firefox/1.0.3 (Debian package 1.0.3-2)

LeRoi
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10346
Joined: September 15th, 2003, 10:22 am

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 10:42 am

I can't see anything except placeholders for the images in your post above and when I right click and choose "view image" I get a 404, not found on this server...

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 10:45 am

jrzycrim wrote:Seems like your url is not valid:
The requested URL /klov.com/screens/C/vCommando.png was not found on this server.


Firefox supports png images just fine.


weird. Others said they could see it. OK, I feel better if you're all seeing the same thing I am. :)

thx

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 15739
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 11:07 am

I get File Not Found errors for both of your image links above.

Are they hosted somewhere that one must have permission to access?

Interestingly, if I enter the image URLs at http://web-sniffer.net/ to check the http headers, it DOES return header information (content IS returned as "image/png" - I figured it would not and that would be the problem).

Here's a png image from the png home page (click here) that displays in my FFox with no problem:
Image
Last edited by makaiguy on January 29th, 2005, 11:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win7 Home Prem (64bit): FF 40.0.3, TB 38.2.0 ║ Android 4.2.2/4.4.2: FF 40.0.3, no Android TB available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

FisherSue

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: September 19th, 2004, 9:23 pm
Location: Bristol, Maine

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 11:11 am

And I see them just fine, assuming they are screen shots of what looks like a Commando game.
Firefox 1.0 M3 (Moox Optimized) Win98SE
Homebuilt 1.7 gHz celeron; 512 MB

Jadugar
 
Posts: 1755
Joined: April 18th, 2004, 3:27 pm

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 11:12 am

how can you see an image that doesn't exist on the server or is the server very very selective in displaying the images? I dont see them with both firefox and IE as it seems the image doesn't exist.

FisherSue

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: September 19th, 2004, 9:23 pm
Location: Bristol, Maine

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 11:26 am

Jadugar wrote:how can you see an image that doesn't exist on the server or is the server very very selective in displaying the images? I dont see them with both firefox and IE as it seems the image doesn't exist.
http://images.webmagic.com/klov.com/screens/C/vCommando.png
http://images.webmagic.com/klov.com/scr ... mmando.png
Don't know, but those are the links, and they display just fine.
Firefox 1.0 M3 (Moox Optimized) Win98SE
Homebuilt 1.7 gHz celeron; 512 MB

old FatJohn
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 11:51 am

All the 3 .pngs on this thread work for me too. I can see them on this page, no need to click anything. Try new profiles maybe?

LeRoi
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10346
Joined: September 15th, 2003, 10:22 am

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 12:08 pm

The first two images don't work in another Firefox profile for me. Makaiguy's image works fine and so does the page he linked to.

Check and see if this .png displays:

Image

Fishersue's link returns this (just like view image of the first two):

Not Found

The requested URL /klov.com/screens/C/vCommando.png was not found on this server.
Apache/2.0.50 (Fedora) Server at images.webmagic.com Port 80

FisherSue

User avatar
 
Posts: 20
Joined: September 19th, 2004, 9:23 pm
Location: Bristol, Maine

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 12:14 pm

Does for me, again. Don't know why I'm seeing them if no one else (other than FatJohn) can't.
It's a screen shot of your sysinfo-memory, Leroi.
I think half the problems with Firefox are caused by faulty extensions. No real proof, but a gut feeling. Whenever I've had a problem, uninstalling any new ones usually clears it up. It also would explain why creating a new profile usually clears things up.
Firefox 1.0 M3 (Moox Optimized) Win98SE
Homebuilt 1.7 gHz celeron; 512 MB

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 12:20 pm

I'll add "I can see them all" to the minority ;)
OlGranDad

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 12:30 pm

It sounds like the server is having intermittent problems. All of them show up for me.

BTW, thanks for the memories... Commando.

LeRoi
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10346
Joined: September 15th, 2003, 10:22 am

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 12:31 pm

Not working in Mozilla 1.7.5 either. Mine and Makaiguy's are the only ones I can see...

old FatJohn
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted January 29th, 2005, 12:33 pm

LeRoi: Could you be AdBlocking them? The server does have a little funny name...

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], d110pickup and 26 guests