Firefox "Open New Tab" button does not work

User Help for Mozilla Firefox

Post Posted March 13th, 2011, 7:55 am

My "Open New Tab" button does not work - I have eliminated problems with the computer, and I can use IE as my browser and open new windows. This just star1ted two days ago after years of use with Firefox browser.


User avatar
Posts: 8751
Joined: November 5th, 2004, 11:28 am

Post Posted March 13th, 2011, 8:33 am

Uninstall the Ask toolbar and it should work again. There is a compatibility issue with the Ask toolbar and Firefox that prevents new tabs from being opened.

Posts: 604
Joined: December 24th, 2010, 5:32 am

Post Posted March 13th, 2011, 9:25 am

The problem is going to be in getting rid of the Ask toolbar. From various reports, it appears a bit "sticky".


User avatar
Posts: 35163
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted March 13th, 2011, 9:35 am

Try the vendors site for help & their removal tool.
You could always try this thread > viewtopic.php?p=8810675#p8810675
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-38.0.1/T-bird-
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.


Post Posted May 14th, 2011, 2:55 pm

Hi, Guys
Updated to FF4 today & I too was having this problem. ](*,) With all add ons disabled works fine & do not have the Ask tool bar as suggested. My problem was with the Fox Clocks add on which disabled now open tab contex menu working fine.
In addition, saw a tip how to change the annoying order change of open in new tab and window back to what normally was. :mrgreen:

Return to Firefox Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests