MozillaZine

Firefox Won't Install - Windows 7, 64-bit

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
DJFo
Guest
 

Post Posted March 23rd, 2011, 7:44 am

Having been using the beta and then the RC, my FF apparently updated to the official 4.0 when it was released. However it was still showing as Beta 6 in my start menus and shortcuts which was an annoyance. I uninstalled Beta 6 to start afresh but now cannot install 4.0.

When I click to run it, it shows the usual Windows UAC dialog which I accept, and then the installation file extracts - and then nothing. I've also tried running it in various compatibility modes with the same result - it 'extracts' and nothing happens. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit.

Globe199
 
Posts: 84
Joined: November 13th, 2008, 5:38 pm

Post Posted March 23rd, 2011, 8:09 am

Try a silent install using the command line like this:

"Firefox.exe" -ms

DJFo
Guest
 

Post Posted March 23rd, 2011, 8:47 am

Thanks for the reply - still didn't work sadly. Comes up with the Windows UAC and then nothing afterwards

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted March 23rd, 2011, 10:24 am

OK so after several attempts at installing previous betas and proper versions, they all do the same thing - so god knows what's going on....

I've seen one other comment on the net by someone with the same problem, also running Windows 7 64 bit, but they had no replies to their problem.

In pure desperation I just copied the program folder from my Vista Laptop onto this computer and bizarrely it is actually working.

Obviously not an ideal situation as it's not 'properly installed' in the Program list, but I'm stuck as to what else I can try.....?

DJFo
Guest
 

Post Posted March 23rd, 2011, 1:16 pm

Well just in case anyone else ever has this problem, here is the solution with thanks to some helpers on Mozilla's chat

If you try to install and the program just disappears after extraction, then you can use 7Zip to unzip the installation files to the Desktop (or wherever). You can then run the setup from there as normal.

thrashingwumpus
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 24th, 2013, 11:10 am

Post Posted June 24th, 2013, 11:14 am

I had this problem. I fixed it by right-clicking and using "Run as Administrator."

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34260
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted June 24th, 2013, 11:18 am

I really don't think that after 2 + years, that anyone is still interested in this thread.

Locking due to old age.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 16 guests