MozillaZine

application/octet-stream problem

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
CallevB
 
Posts: 6
Joined: February 16th, 2005, 1:06 am

Post Posted February 16th, 2005, 1:21 am

Friends

When I go to the following site:
http://www.global.acer.com/

then click on any of the links to the left, like:
http://www.acer.com/region/EMEA

then what happens is not what I expect, but the following message box appears:
Opening EMEA
You have chosen to open EMEA
Which is a application/octet-stream
From: http://www.acer.com/region/
What should Firefox do with this....
Open With...
Save to Disk
OK or Cancel

The `Do this automatically for files like this now on ` is greyed out.

The funny thing is that if I choose to `Open With` ,and then navigatge to Firefox program folder and choose Firefox.exe, then that page opens up just nicely. Also if I just go directly to that http://www.acer.com/region/EMEA page (without going through that www.global.acer.com page, then the page opens just fine.

I deleted the profile, and recreated it. I also renamed the mimeTypes.rdf file to something else, but neither of these mattered.

Do you think the problem is with that Acer web page, or with the Firefox? With IE it all works well.


Thanks for good input

CallevB
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.5) Gecko/20041107 Firefox/1.0
Extensions: Tabbrowser Prefs 1.1.1; Calendar 0.8.3+

Atropos

User avatar
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: December 4th, 2002, 6:18 pm
Location: Texas

Post Posted February 16th, 2005, 1:46 am

The Acer web server is using misconfigured software.
It is telling Firefox the page is an abstract file type, hence the prompt on what to do.
However, when you save the file to disk, and then open it from disk, well that is a different operation where the Acer web server is not involved. Hence it can't tell Firefox it is an abstract file type.

IE is just covering up the mistake of the people running the web site - after all, who is an ignorant computer user more likely to blame here, the browser for "not working" or the web site where the mistake is?

Firefox will not second guess the web server in the way IE does. Unfortunately that also means if the person running the web server makes a mistake, it will only be Firefox that lets anyone know! You have to put IE at the highest security levels before it begins to balk at such a mistake.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests