MozillaZine

Max_Entry_Size Prefs‏‏

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Veturius
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 22nd, 2011, 2:26 am

Post Posted August 22nd, 2011, 2:31 am

Hi everyone, hope you're having a great time! :wink:

I've added browser.cache.disk.max_entry_size and browser.cache.memory.max_entry_size prefs in Firefox 6.0 on Windows 7 with Integer value of say 64000 and even -1, but unfortunately nothing happens and the maximum size for cache entries are still 5MB. Do these prefs really work at this time or we need to wait for Firefox 7.0?

Thank you so much for your help!

morat
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 22nd, 2011, 5:09 am

The max file size is hard coded.

Firefox 3.6:

Code: Select all
#define kMaxDataFileSize   0x4000000   // 64 MiB

http://mxr.mozilla.org/mozilla1.9.2/sou ... CacheMap.h
http://mxr.mozilla.org/mozilla1.9.2/sou ... Device.cpp

Firefox 4.0:

Code: Select all
#define kMaxDataFileSize   5 * 1024 * 1024  // 5 MB (in bytes)

http://mxr.mozilla.org/mozilla2.0/sourc ... CacheMap.h
http://mxr.mozilla.org/mozilla2.0/sourc ... Device.cpp

In Firefox 3.6, I used a perl script to extract flash videos from the cache.

In Firefox 4.0/5.0/6.0, the file sizes are too small to do this. *cry*

Veturius
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 22nd, 2011, 2:26 am

Post Posted August 22nd, 2011, 5:56 am

Thanks for your reply, so there's no way to bypass it...

Do you think it'll be the same with Firefox 7.0 or there will be a pref for it?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 39 guests