MozillaZine

HOWTO run Firefox 10 in 32 bit mode (Linux)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
gw1500se
 
Posts: 116
Joined: April 25th, 2008, 6:16 pm

Post Posted January 31st, 2012, 11:28 am

I have java application that will not run in 64 bit mode (Webex). How to I start Firefox in 32 bit mode when I need to use that app? TIA.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8791
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted January 31st, 2012, 3:57 pm

You might have to download a 32-bit Linux version of Firefox from http://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all.html and run from that. I don't think Linux has a universal binary.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25579
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted January 31st, 2012, 4:54 pm

You appear to already be using 32-bit version of Firefox 10.0 on Linux.

Yes the 32-bit and 64-bit builds of Firefox for Linux from Mozilla are separate.

64-bit version is at http://releases.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/firefox/releases/10.0/linux-x86_64/
(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

gw1500se
 
Posts: 116
Joined: April 25th, 2008, 6:16 pm

Post Posted February 1st, 2012, 6:01 am

Thanks for the replies. How can I tell which I have as there is nothing on the About screen to indicate either way. The reason I thing I am using 64 bit is because the Webex Java applet fails.
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.

KWierso
 
Posts: 8791
Joined: May 7th, 2006, 10:29 pm
Location: California

Post Posted February 1st, 2012, 8:01 am

Your useragent string says "i686". The "86" piece implies 32-bit software.

WLS

User avatar
 
Posts: 2222
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted February 1st, 2012, 8:05 am

The user agent string for the 64-bit Firefox looks like this.

Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:10.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/10.0
Useless to you, is useful to someone else.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 4.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Kubuntu 14.10 | KDE 4.14.1

gw1500se
 
Posts: 116
Joined: April 25th, 2008, 6:16 pm

Post Posted February 1st, 2012, 8:36 am

Then I guess I have a different problem. This install of Fedora 13 came with an old version of Firefox (3.9) which worked with Webex. When I use Firefox 10 does not. I get a message Applet started then a blank screen. From my searching for this problem the symptom is typical of running the Webex applet on a 64 bit version of Firefox. What else could it be?
There are 10 kinds of people in the world. Those that understand binary and those that don't.

WLS

User avatar
 
Posts: 2222
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted February 1st, 2012, 9:46 am

Are you referring to WebEx?

If so, have you tried asking on their support site?

http://support.webex.com/support/support-overview.html

There was no Firefox 3.9, so you must mean 3.6.

Have you tried installing the 64-bit version of Firefox?

Assuming WebEx uses Java, is your Java plugin up to date, the 32-bit version or 64-bit version?

64-bit plugins won't work with the 32-bit application.
Useless to you, is useful to someone else.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 4.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Kubuntu 14.10 | KDE 4.14.1

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 9 guests