MozillaZine

How to mute a tab?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
someUser904234
Guest
 

Post Posted February 9th, 2012, 3:56 pm

edited out the unnecessary comparisons-- Loudnoise

So now that leaves firefox with a big flaw: How do I mute flash? Its bad enough that its a resource hog, cant be resized or easily recorded... but muting, wtf?

why isnt firefox protecting us against this? Are the monsters at adobe paying of mozilla devs?

vsub
 
Posts: 668
Joined: October 2nd, 2009, 2:20 pm

Post Posted February 9th, 2012, 4:02 pm

I don't think there is per tab muting but you can mute the whole browser if you use Windows 7/Vista(they have per application volume control)

There are also other programs/add-ons that can mute the flash but again not per tab but those in some cases can lead to bigger problems(like not having sound on flash everywhere)

You can also use the add-on FlashBlock to block the flash everywhere and start the flash that you want(there is also white list)
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... src=search

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38853
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted February 9th, 2012, 4:02 pm

Firefox does not have any audio controls itself. You might search the extensions.
No.
Post wrangler
"If you lock this, the Pentium IIs win." - anonymous

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25577
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted February 9th, 2012, 4:09 pm

(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 17545
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist... United Kingdom

Post Posted February 9th, 2012, 4:24 pm

someUser904234 wrote:why isnt firefox protecting us against this?

...because it is an internet browser and not a substitute mother?
Metal Lion latest Firefox Themes -Tiger SP, Tiger, Graphite, Australis
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22720
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted February 9th, 2012, 5:18 pm

In Windows 7, you can control the volume level of individual applications.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18605
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted February 9th, 2012, 8:43 pm

Frank Lion wrote:
someUser904234 wrote:why isnt firefox protecting us against this?

...because it is an internet browser and not a substitute mother?

That's pretty close to what I was thinking when I read it... Someday the ROBOTS will protect us from ourselves :lol:
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Daifne, Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 16 guests