MozillaZine

Protocol (magnet) isn't associated with any program

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
rustydailey
Guest
 

Post Posted February 28th, 2012, 7:25 pm

I keep getting an error when I click links. The error says: Firefox doesn't know how to open this address, because the protocol (magnet) isn't associated with any program. I have looked at the applications tab and the program is associated but I still get the error. Anyone have an idea?

Thanks
Rusty

Guest
Guest
 

Post Posted February 28th, 2012, 7:46 pm

The magnet protocol is used for bittorrent links. You need to have a torrent client such as uTorrent installed and configured to handle magnet links.

WLS

User avatar
 
Posts: 2099
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted February 28th, 2012, 7:49 pm

You have a magnet protocol associated with what program?

I had to register the magnet protocol first. This may help.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Register_protocol
Useless to you, is useful to someone else.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 4.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Kubuntu 14.10 | KDE 4.14.1

rustydailey
Guest
 

Post Posted February 29th, 2012, 6:36 pm

WLS wrote:You have a magnet protocol associated with what program?

I had to register the magnet protocol first. This may help.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Register_protocol



I do have a torrent program installed. I tried to follow the link but just got confused.

jairusan
Guest
 

Post Posted April 5th, 2012, 5:45 am

I am using firefox 11.0 in Linux and after following the instructions in the mozillazine link, firefox still don't ask me what program to run #-o I am sure there is something missing here since when I try to open the magnet torrent links with google chrome it ask what application to use.

Help please... I will continue researching and if find the solution will paste it here.

Thank you,

WLS

User avatar
 
Posts: 2099
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted April 5th, 2012, 8:37 am

I just followed those instructions in Firefox Nighlty, and the magnet protocol is not showing up for me, under Content Type in Preferences -> Applications, so something must have changed.

It does appear in Firefox Beta, and I have it set to Always ask, but it doesn't work either.

Oh well, I just copy and paste them anyway.

EDIT:

Appears I had the value set wrong (didn't follow instructions). :-"

I changed it to true for some reason, once changed back to false, it now works in Nightly.
Useless to you, is useful to someone else.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 4.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Kubuntu 14.10 | KDE 4.14.1

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests