MozillaZine

firefox 11 high cpu cosume,is normal?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
mantra
 
Posts: 330
Joined: September 29th, 2010, 7:21 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2012, 7:36 am

Hi

i did notice that firefox 11 consumes more then firefox 10.0.3

i mean i did a test and i used process hacker and xp sp2

and i found out that firefox 11 needs always 30/40% to 50% of cpu
i tried to empty the cache and re-do the test and without empty the cache

but it need always 50% of cpu
when the page is loaded it goes to 0%
disabled all the components

is normal?
do you notice the same consume?

thanks
cheers
http://www.pcmech.com/article/clearing- ... he-how-to/
windows firefox 49.0.2 ,thunderbird 45.4 and under linux , firefox and thunderbird are always updated

decao
Guest
 

Post Posted March 20th, 2012, 7:54 am

Nothing in Firefox 11 should be using more CPU than 10. My Firefox 11 is using 0% when I check task manager and wait a second. Noscript, Adblock Plus or Flashblock all usually reduce CPU a lot, if you used to run them and you now are not using them, or if they somehow got disabled.
XP SP3 is a free update from SP2 and would get security patches until 2014 - XP SP2 is no longer secure.

mantra
 
Posts: 330
Joined: September 29th, 2010, 7:21 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2012, 9:40 am

decao wrote:Nothing in Firefox 11 should be using more CPU than 10. My Firefox 11 is using 0% when I check task manager and wait a second. Noscript, Adblock Plus or Flashblock all usually reduce CPU a lot, if you used to run them and you now are not using them, or if they somehow got disabled.
XP SP3 is a free update from SP2 and would get security patches until 2014 - XP SP2 is no longer secure.

thanks
i did test under sp3 and windows 7 sp1
and i found the same consume and it caused by tools->by the javascript

Image
is this the default?

thanks
cheers
http://www.pcmech.com/article/clearing- ... he-how-to/
windows firefox 49.0.2 ,thunderbird 45.4 and under linux , firefox and thunderbird are always updated

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7744
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2012, 9:07 pm

mantra wrote:is this the default?

Yes, those are the default advanced Javascript options. However, they most likely have nothing to do with your issue. Please see the following article:
:arrow: Firefox consumes a lot of CPU resources

nscp0606
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 5th, 2012, 11:41 pm

Post Posted April 5th, 2012, 11:57 pm

I too noticed the problem with Firefox high cpu consumption.

The problem started when I upgraded from Firefox 10 to Firefox 11.
Mostly, it manifests after running the browser for a while, maybe
an hour or more, at which point I might have a dozen or more tabs
open (mostly stuff like Yahoo Mail Classic and Yahoo News).

The problem ended when I downgraded from Firefox 11 to Firefox 10
(just downloaded Firefox 10.0.3esr and installed it). So for me,
that was the solution.

But I still have a problem with high memory usage. After I've got
several dozen tabs open, Windows Task Manager shows Firefox
consuming about 10 Meg per tab. This has been going on since
several versions ago, which I started using a year ago or more.

System:
IBM Thinkpad X41 notebook, memory 1.5G, Windows XP,
using add-ons "NoScript" and "Menu Editor".
Flash is uninstalled on my computer.

Regards,
^Hans

Nobes
Guest
 

Post Posted April 9th, 2012, 5:21 am

I too noticed that once I upgraded to Firefox 11 the CPU usage has gone up to the range of 35-50% CPU usage within 10 minutes of browsing. This is even after I close all but one tabs and leave the empty one open.

I can restart the browser open 15 tabs and close them all but one blank page. Same problem.

So the choices are downgrade (safe browsing?) or switch to a different browser (Chrome, Opera?).

My best guess is that some Javascript is left running in the background even after the page associated with it is closed.

Under the old version of Firefox (from which I type this reply) I do notice that when I sit at this response page, the CPU usage is ~39% but if I switch to a static tab then the CPU usage drops to ~6%.
I can also drop the CPU usage back to ~6% if I resize this window so that the Smilies on the right are not rapidly repainting themselves.

- Nobes

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7744
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted April 9th, 2012, 7:15 am

Nobes wrote:So the choices are downgrade (safe browsing?)

Old versions contain security vulnerabilities. The two exceptions are 3.6.x, which will supposedly no longer be supported sometime this millennium, and ESR, which is a special version intended for enterprises.

Have you tested if the problems occur in a brand new profile?

guest14
Guest
 

Post Posted April 17th, 2012, 4:49 am

experiencing the same thing

I have a laptop with the not-so-powerful e-350 cpu, so changes are quite noticable.
And I definitely noticed the change that ff11 brought with it, ff10 was perfect qua cpu usage, but they seem to have made some grave errors in 11.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests