MozillaZine

Firefox 12 goes to bottom of web page

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
teztez50
 
Posts: 2
Joined: April 28th, 2012, 7:19 am

Post Posted April 28th, 2012, 7:22 am

I also have the exact same issue. It just jumps to the "blocked" section of the page as soon as the page finish to load. I can confirm that it happens due to a hosts file which block ad sites.
This only started to happen with FF12 and never happened before...

ancodia
Guest
 

Post Posted April 28th, 2012, 7:58 am

I disabled the script on my router & the problem goes away. However when forced to choose between router based ad/script/malware blocking (which blocks things for all devices on my local network) or running firefox 12 on my laptop, I went with the script. I've downgraded to firefox 11 & all is good again. I'll wait for the next version of firefox and try again.

mozillauser233
 
Posts: 247
Joined: June 5th, 2010, 1:54 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2012, 8:29 am

Well, that sux. We cannot just sit with the problem.

It must be a bug.

I've never submitted a bug before but I will try later.

mozillauser233
 
Posts: 247
Joined: June 5th, 2010, 1:54 pm

Post Posted April 28th, 2012, 11:38 am

I have filed a bug on it.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=749969

Easier than I anticipated.

ronleo
Guest
 

Post Posted April 28th, 2012, 12:20 pm

Not sure, but possibly setting browser.xul.error_pages.enabled to true or false would help? It changes the way blocked items are displayed. (Note I am not saying the bug shouldn't be fixed, just something that might help in the meantime.)

teztez50
 
Posts: 2
Joined: April 28th, 2012, 7:19 am

Post Posted April 28th, 2012, 10:16 pm

You are right ronleo, setting "browser.xul.error_pages.enabled" to "false" has stopped the jumping.
I've add this information to mozillauser233 bug report...

Dingler

User avatar
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: November 14th, 2011, 4:41 am

Post Posted April 29th, 2012, 4:11 am

ancodia wrote:I disabled the script on my router & the problem goes away. However when forced to choose between router based ad/script/malware blocking (which blocks things for all devices on my local network) or running firefox 12 on my laptop, I went with the script. I've downgraded to firefox 11 & all is good again. I'll wait for the next version of firefox and try again.


mozillauser233 wrote:I have filed a bug on it.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=749969

Easier than I anticipated.


It's already reported, see:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2461583
and https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=748803

costark
 
Posts: 195
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted April 29th, 2012, 10:53 am

mozillauser233 wrote:
Dingler wrote:To users meeting this issue, are you using the hosts file in Windows to block some domains like ads?


Yup, it because of ad blocking with hosts file. I've never noticed it before FF12 as I never tested it. But using Noscript blocks this kind of behavior as well.

It doesn't happen with IE9.


I use the little Batch File approach that turns the Host File On/Off with Rt Clk Open and confirm that with HOSTS OFF No issue - with HOSTS On the test url's shown open at bottom to 25% down. I can live with it but hopefully it will be fixed.
Firefox 38.0.1 - Win 7 Hm Prem 64 - ESET ESS 8 - MBAM Pro - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect 6 - Diskeeper Pro 15 - EPIM Mail - Secunia PSI 2 - NO Java

mozillauser233
 
Posts: 247
Joined: June 5th, 2010, 1:54 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2012, 12:12 pm

Dingler wrote:
ancodia wrote:I disabled the script on my router & the problem goes away. However when forced to choose between router based ad/script/malware blocking (which blocks things for all devices on my local network) or running firefox 12 on my laptop, I went with the script. I've downgraded to firefox 11 & all is good again. I'll wait for the next version of firefox and try again.


mozillauser233 wrote:I have filed a bug on it.

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=749969

Easier than I anticipated.


It's already reported, see:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2461583
and https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=748803


Correct me if I am wrong. How are they the same?

Frame with elements blocked through hosts file prevents from scrolling down the page with spacebar

vs
Firefox scrolls pages while using adblocking material in hosts file


I've got no problem scrolling with spacebar.

The issue is that using a adblock hosts file of any sort, router, pc etc, auto scrolls the page.

I just tested it and was able to scroll down just fine with spacebar. Loading pages like Newegg, gets auto scrolled down.

mozillauser233
 
Posts: 247
Joined: June 5th, 2010, 1:54 pm

Post Posted April 29th, 2012, 12:15 pm

teztez50 wrote:You are right ronleo, setting "browser.xul.error_pages.enabled" to "false" has stopped the jumping.
I've add this information to mozillauser233 bug report...


But with this set to true "default" with Firefox 11, there are no problems.

-

So why is this?

Dingler

User avatar
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: November 14th, 2011, 4:41 am

Post Posted April 30th, 2012, 7:57 am

So it's this bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=749218 but read the comments, the cause is likely the same, focus is on subframe (with content blocked) instead of top-level document.

mgagnonlv
 
Posts: 409
Joined: February 12th, 2005, 8:33 pm

Post Posted April 30th, 2012, 9:23 am

If I may offer a workaround, I have a standard host file (i.e. nothing in it) and use Adblock Plus extension. No such problem.
Michel Gagnon

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests