MozillaZine

"Video format or MIME type is not supported", it says

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
usernameistoolong
 
Posts: 170
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 6:43 pm

Post Posted May 12th, 2012, 9:55 pm

It says,

"Video format or MIME type is not supported."

on the videos on this page,

http://io9.com/5909353/hawkman-starts-a ... s-a-skrull

How do I fix this?

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8787
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2012, 10:05 pm

this works fine for me > http://io9.com/5909353/hawkman-starts-a ... s-a-skrull Just plain old flash
"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." ~ Groucho Marx

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7412
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2012, 10:28 pm

It doesn't work for me either. The site tries to implement a Flash fallback and WebM, but the resulting video ends up H.264, which is currently not supported by Firefox. It's possibly broken by one of the fifty trillion ads and tracking scripts that are blocked on that page, but I won't disable Adblock Plus to find out.

You can right-click, choose View Video, then select to open it in Windows Media Player (on Windows 7), MPC-HC or VLC.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8787
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Hmmm .. XP w/ no HW Acceleration gets a different vid or a different page ?
"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." ~ Groucho Marx

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7412
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2012, 11:04 pm

JayhawksRock wrote:Hmmm .. XP w/ no HW Acceleration gets a different vid or a different page ?

Thanks for the hint. It seems their detection script chokes on 64-bit Windows. If I fake my user agent string to say 32-bit Windows, then it works fine: if Flash Player is enabled, the videos will play through it, and it it's disabled, then the WebM videos will play instead.
usernameistoolong wrote:How do I fix this?

The problem has to be reported to the site. If they refuse to fix it, you can work around it using the UAControl extension. Set the user agent string to your current one, minus the WOW64; bit:
Code: Select all
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:12.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/12.0

garar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 28th, 2012, 5:00 am

Post Posted June 28th, 2012, 5:18 am

Hello Gingerbread Man!

I'm one of the developers of this site. Can I ask you to post you whole user agent so I can fix this? You can use: http://whatsmyuseragent.com/ to get user agent.

Krystian Kichewko

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7412
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted June 28th, 2012, 9:40 am

Hello,
garar wrote:I'm one of the developers of this site. Can I ask you to post you whole user agent so I can fix this? You can use: http://whatsmyuseragent.com/ to get user agent.

All registered users who are logged in can see the user agent strings at the bottom of every post. If you want to see what mine was when I tested your site, simply scroll up:
64-bit failed | 32-bit worked

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 21 guests