MozillaZine

No web thumbs on the tab page

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted June 19th, 2012, 6:44 pm

From when i upgraded to FF 13.0, i noticed that the thumbnails from the new tab page are missing.
The thumbnails box and titles are there, but no thumbnail image.

I had FF 15 Nightly, and at first it didnt had thumbnails, but as i re browsed those sites, it started getting the thumbnails.
I upgraded to 13.0.1 when it got out, and still the same.

PS: I still have nightly installed but not using it.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8940
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted June 19th, 2012, 6:50 pm

This should give you the information you need about the newtab feature http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/thu ... re-missing
"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges! I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!" ~ Alfonso Bedoya ~ The Treasure of the Sierra Madre - 1948

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted June 21st, 2012, 7:09 pm

I dont think that helps.... I never had any thumbnails at all, from when i made the update.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8940
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted June 21st, 2012, 7:20 pm

TheKiller wrote:I dont think that helps.... I never had any thumbnails at all, from when i made the update.

If you do NOT cache to disk or clear your disk cache at shutdown thumbnails will never be saved, therefore they will never be displayed
"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges! I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!" ~ Alfonso Bedoya ~ The Treasure of the Sierra Madre - 1948

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7412
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted June 21st, 2012, 9:32 pm

Firefox 15 → Firefox 13 is not an upgrade :roll:

In Firefox 15 Firefox 16, thumbnails are no longer dependent on the cache.

Edit: It was backed out of Firefox 15, so now Firefox 16 is the earliest that thumbnails might start being stored under the profile folder.
Last edited by Gingerbread Man on June 22nd, 2012, 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8940
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted June 21st, 2012, 9:35 pm

I had FF 15 Nightly,

Gingerbread Man wrote:Firefox 15 → Firefox 13 is not an upgrade :roll:

In Firefox 15, thumbnails are no longer dependent on the cache.

I think it was dependent when 15 was a nightly :wink:
"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges! I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!" ~ Alfonso Bedoya ~ The Treasure of the Sierra Madre - 1948

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted June 22nd, 2012, 2:14 pm

..... So what do i have to do, to enable the darn thumbnails.?

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8940
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted June 22nd, 2012, 2:31 pm

TheKiller wrote:..... So what do i have to do, to enable the darn thumbnails.?

Go to Menu Tools > Options > Privacy and make your settings like it shows in the "Use custom settings for history" section of this help document > http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/set ... vacy+panel
"Badges? We ain't got no badges. We don't need no badges! I don't have to show you any stinkin' badges!" ~ Alfonso Bedoya ~ The Treasure of the Sierra Madre - 1948

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted June 22nd, 2012, 4:08 pm

My browser has all the settings from the image and its still not working :)

polita
Guest
 

Post Posted June 22nd, 2012, 4:18 pm

If you aren't in private browsing mode, and your disk cache is enabled browser.cache.disk.enable, and the "clear history when firefox closes" box is unchecked as shown there, the thumbnails should generate. Maybe it is time for a new profile. Or wait for Firefox 16+ which should put the thumbnails not in the cache.

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted June 23rd, 2012, 8:34 am

polita wrote:If you aren't in private browsing mode, and your disk cache is enabled browser.cache.disk.enable

Fixed ! Thank you.

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted November 20th, 2012, 6:44 am

Bump.
I noticed that the browser doesnt want to ever save and show the site thumbnail for facebook. Why is that?

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7412
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted November 20th, 2012, 9:29 am

Thumbnails are not stored for sites that send the Cache-Control: no-store header. A fair amount of sites fall into this category, including Facebook and Twitter.

Bug 756881 - New tab thumbnails not displayed (or old images displayed) for Facebook, Twitter (sites using Cache-Control no-store)

The developers have already taken note of the above report. Please don't add pointless comments to it. See Bugzilla etiquette.

TheKiller

User avatar
 
Posts: 145
Joined: November 12th, 2010, 10:40 am
Location: Romania

Post Posted November 20th, 2012, 9:40 pm

Thanks for letting me know, Gingerbread Man.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests