MozillaZine

problem with CMD & BAT files since v-15 of ff & tb

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted September 10th, 2012, 4:43 pm

howdy y'all,

os = win7x32
ff = 15.0.1
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:15.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/15.0.1
tb = 15.0
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:15.0) Gecko/20120824 Thunderbird/15.0

being rather old fashioned, i use a script to start my preferred set of apps. since version 15, both firefox and tbird have been breaking that CMD file.

STR [Steps To Reproduce]
1- create a script file
either BAT or CMD will do.
2- put the command line to start your mozilla app [either ff or tb] in the file
as an example, in windows explorer ...
--- navigate to the folder containing the firefox.exe file
--- shift-right-click on the firefox.exe file
--- select "copy as path" from the context menu
--- paste the result into your script file
3- do NOT add anything more than an optional <enter> to end the line
your file should be only one or two lines. one with the EXE and an optional blank one after that line.
for instance, i ended up with this [note the trailing blank line] ...
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"


4- save the file to some convenient folder [perhaps one on your PATH statement]
5- run the script

the script runs and the app opens, but there are several problems ...
[a] the script does not exit, it remains open.
[b] in the script window, on the line immediately after the EXE you will see the word "cache!".
[c] if you close the script, the app closes.

can anyone else reproduce this? if so, please let me know. heck! if NOT please let me know. [*grin*]

take care,
lee

-ps
much to my embarrassment i left out a step.

this ONLY happens if ...
- the CMD file above is called from another CMD file
- the CMD file above is called from an open command window
- the CMD file contains anything other than another "start filename.exe" after the firefox or thunderbird line [such as a PAUSE statement]

lee-
Last edited by Lee_Dailey on September 10th, 2012, 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dingler

User avatar
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: November 14th, 2011, 4:41 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2012, 5:31 pm

That's bug https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=787313
Feel free to add your comment, it will bump the dev. ;)

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted September 10th, 2012, 5:39 pm

howdy Dingler,

thank you for the link, dude! [*grin*] i thot i was the only one who still uses CMD/BAT files ...

take care,
lee

Dingler

User avatar
 
Posts: 1245
Joined: November 14th, 2011, 4:41 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2012, 5:43 pm

Yes, and the major problem is now the MS-DOS prompt doesn't close itself (even with the command EXIT) and if you close it manually, it closes the Firefox processes at the same time.

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted September 10th, 2012, 5:58 pm

Dingler wrote:Yes, and the major problem is now the MS-DOS prompt doesn't close itself (even with the command EXIT) and if you close it manually, it closes the Firefox processes at the same time.

howdy Dingler,

yep! the "close all the mozilla apps when the script window is closed" thing is a real killer. oddly enuf, it does NOT close windows explorer if that is called from the same CMD file.

take care,
lee

Lee_Dailey

User avatar
 
Posts: 14194
Joined: July 27th, 2004, 4:33 pm
Location: milky way galaxy, sol system, terra, north america, usa, tx, bedford

Post Posted September 11th, 2012, 3:47 am

howdy y'all,

for those who also run into this problem, there is a workaround posted in the bug. here it is ...
Comment 11

Code: Select all
start "TempShell" /D "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox" /B "CMD /C start ""Firefox"" firefox.exe"


note the _entire_ section after the "/b" is in quotes and that there are double quotes around the word Firefox [that's the window title if one is shown].
take care,
lee

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests