MozillaZine

Firefox-Flash saga

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
FFman
 
Posts: 104
Joined: January 28th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Post Posted April 16th, 2013, 1:57 pm

I updated to version 11.7.700.169 yesterday and so far have had no problems.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18609
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted April 16th, 2013, 6:06 pm

mimi123 wrote:I have had problems with Shockwave Flash the last few days, after its most recent update (11.7.700.169). It crashes constantly and I can't look at websites. This is the error message I get:
Warning: Shockwave Flash may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the plugin now, or you can continue to see if the plugin will complete. "Continue" "Stop Plugin".

It doesn't matter which option I choose, the browser closes every time. What can I do, or is there an alternative product out there to replace Shockwave Flash? Reading online it seems it has a lot of problems.
Thank you.

Follow these instructions ... all of them...that match your system type...
Adobe Community: How do I do a clean install of Flash Player?
...and then get the new versions from here...
Adobe Flash Player Distribution | Adobe
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

fits79

User avatar
 
Posts: 278
Joined: March 9th, 2012, 1:13 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2013, 1:39 am

With that guide does it solves the problem?
Because i have the exact same problem.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18609
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted April 22nd, 2013, 7:31 am

All I can say is that with the latest release of Flash both my Firefox and IE would crash as soon as I visited a vid...
Normally I would use Adobe's uninstaller program to uninstall old Flash before I would install the new version and I did that with that latest release... but, got the crashes.

... so, I used their uninstaller prog. again and installed the version I had in my comp. previously and then tried some vids... it still crashed even with the older version...

... so, I download the latest version, used Adobe's latest uninstaller (I normally keep their uninstaller on disk here but I decided to make sure that I had the latest uninstaller version... JIC ... and...

I uninstalled Flash and then followed the instruction in that Adobe link about deleting certain Adobe-Flash folders, installed Flash and everything now works...

So, that's about all that I know.... also, since I killed off some of those files/folders I had to reset some of the Flash settings... like not using hardware acceleration.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

fits79

User avatar
 
Posts: 278
Joined: March 9th, 2012, 1:13 am

Post Posted April 22nd, 2013, 7:40 am

So does anyone can tell is why this crashes happening?

What is the reason for that?

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 34507
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted April 22nd, 2013, 7:57 am

Why not ask Adobe?
They caused all the problems with their updates.
Check their forums.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-36.0.1-38/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.5.0.
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

fits79

User avatar
 
Posts: 278
Joined: March 9th, 2012, 1:13 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2013, 7:46 am

dfoulkes wrote:
mimi123 wrote:I have had problems with Shockwave Flash the last few days, after its most recent update (11.7.700.169). It crashes constantly and I can't look at websites. This is the error message I get:
Warning: Shockwave Flash may be busy, or it may have stopped responding. You can stop the plugin now, or you can continue to see if the plugin will complete. "Continue" "Stop Plugin".

It doesn't matter which option I choose, the browser closes every time. What can I do, or is there an alternative product out there to replace Shockwave Flash? Reading online it seems it has a lot of problems.
Thank you.

Follow these instructions ... all of them...that match your system type...
Adobe Community: How do I do a clean install of Flash Player?
...and then get the new versions from here...
Adobe Flash Player Distribution | Adobe

I will do ALL THAT with NO RESULT at all the same crashes still happening....

So what wwe can do....

mudslide
 
Posts: 83
Joined: March 25th, 2013, 7:49 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2013, 7:55 am

After cleaning up and reinstalling, other things that may help (try in combination, then worst case move on to plan B)
1. disable Protected Mode, as above, in mms.cfg add ProtectedMode=0
2. disable hardware acceleration in Flash
3. disable hardware acceleration in Firefox
4. disable Aero peek
Restart computer

Plan B:
Check settings or switch your antivirus and/or firewall software
or go back to Flash 10.3 links are in this section http://kb.mozillazine.org/Flash#Flash_P ... _-_Windows

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18609
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted April 23rd, 2013, 7:58 am

Not sure... all that above stuff worked for me... are your video drivers all up to date?

Also, in the below doc. there is mention of Disabling Protected Mode ... you might want to see if that helps.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Flash
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

fits79

User avatar
 
Posts: 278
Joined: March 9th, 2012, 1:13 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2013, 8:15 am

Now i disable the protected mode by edit the file "mms.cfg" file at "C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash" and add this line
ProtectedMode=0

Now will see if that work.

What exactly that protected mode do?

FFman
 
Posts: 104
Joined: January 28th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Post Posted April 23rd, 2013, 8:30 am

Since I don't now have a problem with Flash (famous last words!) for comparison here is my setup:

Windows 7 Premium 64-bit

Firefox 20.0.1 - Hardware Acceleration ON

Flash 11.7.700.169 - Hardware Acceleration ENABLED
mms.cfg=
AutoUpdateDisable=0
SilentAutoUpdateEnable=0

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22720
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted April 23rd, 2013, 11:34 am

fits79 wrote:What exactly that protected mode do?


It puts Flash into a "protected" sandbox process outside of the Firefox process. Note that this entirely redundant to Firefox's *own* plugin-container sandbox process. Flash crashed for a long time because of conflicts with plugin-container, as soon as they finally got it stable they introduced some hardware acceleration tweaks that caused more crashes, then they finally got that stable and introduced protected mode. It's a good thing Flash is free because no-one in their right mind would pay for this.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

fits79

User avatar
 
Posts: 278
Joined: March 9th, 2012, 1:13 am

Post Posted April 23rd, 2013, 1:28 pm

So it is better or not to have the protected feature disabled?

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22720
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted April 23rd, 2013, 5:39 pm

Considering that it's caused non-stop crashes for untold gazillions of users, I'd say it's pretty well much useless.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 107317
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the East Coast

Post Posted April 24th, 2013, 3:44 am

patrickjdempsey wrote:Considering that it's caused non-stop crashes for untold gazillions of users, I'd say it's pretty well much useless.


...and therefore it is better to have Flash's protected mode disabled.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests