MozillaZine

Mac + firefox + java applet plugins == pain

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
wfiveash
 
Posts: 38
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 12:11 pm

Post Posted October 17th, 2012, 4:19 pm

Today I noticed that Apple updated Java for Lion and other OS X
versions. After the update I decided to make sure Java was working via
the Firefox Java applet plugin (note I also have Oracle Java v7
installed and updated to the latest version). When I went to the Java
test webpage it tells me my java version is old. When I go to the Java
Tester site to see what it thinks my version is it tells me I'm missing
a plug-in. When I look at firefox add-ons it shows that Java Applet
Plug-in 14.5.0 is enabled and I don't see any other Java Applet plug-ins
listed. When I look at about:plugins that shows two instances of the
Java Applet Plugin (version 14.5.0 and version Java 7 Update 09).

How can I fix this?

JIT
Guest
 

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 2:45 am

Dear fellow frustrated Java user,

I had the same problem this morning (I think), when I tried to cantact my webbank.

I thought it was them, that they had not updated their programs, but found this on the web regarding the OS X update from yesterday:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5493?view ... cale=da_DK

If it is the same problem we are experiencing, you need to re-allow + install the Java for your browser. For me this ment only to click the correct buttom on the webpage, and the rest goes by itself.

I hope this helps :)
JIT

wfiveash
 
Posts: 38
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 12:11 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 10:03 am

JIT wrote:Dear fellow frustrated Java user,

I had the same problem this morning (I think), when I tried to cantact my webbank.

I thought it was them, that they had not updated their programs, but found this on the web regarding the OS X update from yesterday:

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5493?view ... cale=da_DK

If it is the same problem we are experiencing, you need to re-allow + install the Java for your browser. For me this ment only to click the correct buttom on the webpage, and the rest goes by itself.

I hope this helps :)
JIT


Thanks for the reply but that didn't help. So far I've installed Java 7 from Oracle and deleted pluginreg.dat and restarted firefox and I'm still seeing two versions of the Java applet plugin reported by about:plugins. Also websites that check the version of Java are showing a missing plugin. This is annoying to say the least.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10872
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 11:35 am

.
I installed Java 1.7.0_09 from Oracle for the Mac. I tested here and it works with no problem.

Note that system requirements are Intel-based Mac running Mac OS X 10.7.3 or later (I'm running 10.8.2)

I also tested it here and it works.

.
FF 83.0 - FF 84b4 - FF 85a - TB 78.5 - Mac OSX 10.13.6

wfiveash
 
Posts: 38
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 12:11 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 12:35 pm

RobertJ wrote:.
I installed Java 1.7.0_09 from Oracle for the Mac. I tested here and it works with no problem.

Note that system requirements are Intel-based Mac running Mac OS X 10.7.3 or later (I'm running 10.8.2)

I also tested it here and it works.

.


Unfortunately that doesn't explain why firefox is listing two different Java applet plug-ins in the about:plugins information page.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10872
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 12:46 pm

.
Have no clue; I only see one and it's located here

/Library/Internet Plug-Ins/JavaAppletPlugin.plugin

There should not be a plug-in here

/Users/<user_acct>/Library/Internet Plug-Ins

Find your two and trash them. Then go here and reinstall.

The dmg file should be jre-7u9-macosx-x64.dmg


.
FF 83.0 - FF 84b4 - FF 85a - TB 78.5 - Mac OSX 10.13.6

wfiveash
 
Posts: 38
Joined: April 29th, 2005, 12:11 pm

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 2:06 pm

I found this symlink:
lrwxr-xr-x 1 root wheel 80 Nov 8 2011 JavaAppletPlugin.plugin.orig@ -> //System/Library/Java/Support/CoreDeploy.bundle/Contents/JavaAppletPlugin.plugin

in /Library/Internet Plug-Ins so I removed that, deleted the pluginreg.dat and restarted firefox and all is well. Thanks for the help.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10872
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 18th, 2012, 2:24 pm

:D Your welcome.
FF 83.0 - FF 84b4 - FF 85a - TB 78.5 - Mac OSX 10.13.6

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests