Firefox keeps 'Not Responding' upon startup!!

User Help for Mozilla Firefox

Post Posted April 30th, 2005, 8:45 pm

Hello all, I've been a loyal firefox user since 0.7 Firebird. And I really love it. But for the past week or so, everytime I open up Firefox, it freezes and gives me that Not Responding BS. The only way I can use it (Like I am now) is to open it, leave it on 'Not Responding' for about 3-4 minutes, then it works fine. But if I click a javascript popup window or something, it freezes again.

I just reinstalled and.. nothing.

Should I completely uninstall then reinstall? If so, how can I back up my extentions and themes?


Post Posted April 30th, 2005, 8:47 pm

Oh yeah.. I'm running 1.0.3


User avatar
Posts: 17002
Joined: July 10th, 2004, 8:44 am

Post Posted April 30th, 2005, 8:49 pm

Are you using Extension User Agent switcher or perhaps 'switch proxy' both are causing start delays. Turn off the 'auto' update feature in Switch proxy, uninstall UAS, look for update.

Posts: 3826
Joined: November 14th, 2004, 4:41 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Post Posted April 30th, 2005, 8:56 pm

I am having this problem as well.. I uninstalled Switch proxy. FF still freezes up indefinitly.... I'd hate to have to uninstall my 40+ extensions to determine which one it is but there's no way to disable extensions in safemode for normal mode that I can determine.
I'm moving to Theory, everything works there.
Most issues are solved by going through the Standard Diagnostic

old FatJohn
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted April 30th, 2005, 9:28 pm

Freezing -> Prescott Pentium 4 Hyperthreading?

Freezing -> Switch Proxy extension?


Post Posted April 30th, 2005, 10:25 pm

I'm uninstalling Switchproxy right now. Thanks guys. I'll let you know how it works.

Posts: 272
Joined: February 19th, 2005, 11:07 pm

Post Posted April 30th, 2005, 10:44 pm

Advil- (or Guest, whatever you are)

if uninstalling all those extension still showing the problem, then i suggest you create a new fresh clean profile. must be the upgrades that you been using that profile fo r some times


Post Posted April 30th, 2005, 10:58 pm

Ech, yeah I'm the guest. Forgot to type in advil in the side bar. Anywho, I uninstalled switchproxy and a few other extentions I don't use, but installed just because I could. And now it works fine. Thanks a lot everyone.


Post Posted February 26th, 2010, 4:50 am

hiya everyone Im Matt & Im having problems when playing a game on facebook with firefox saying not responding after Im playing the same game for awhile do u think I should uninstall as many add-ons as possible? or just do a clean install & reinstall firefox ?? Im usingf Windows Vista


User avatar
Posts: 35125
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted February 26th, 2010, 4:56 am

Please start a new thread & check the date before posting to these old threads.
See >
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-30.0-38.0.1/T-bird-
RadioYachting. Conficker Test.

Return to Firefox Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 19 guests