MozillaZine

Firefox Start Page - Search Tab not working

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
saint1
 
Posts: 111
Joined: November 24th, 2004, 5:12 pm

Post Posted November 15th, 2012, 11:59 am

Hello...
I've just updated to Firefox 16.0.2, running Win7 Home Premium (64-bit)
The blue 'Search' tab in the middle of the Start Page does not respond to anything typed in!
Can someone tell me what's gone wrong?
Many thanks

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 18815
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Illinois

Post Posted November 15th, 2012, 1:09 pm

Is it still broken in safe mode?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_Mode
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

saint1
 
Posts: 111
Joined: November 24th, 2004, 5:12 pm

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 8:41 am

Hi...thanks for taking time to reply.
With all add-ons disabled, still does not work. Using Help>Safe Mode just brings up a window with a lot of blank, empty 'squares'...
Since I've changed nothing else on my system except allowing Firefox to update, I have to assume the problem is with Firefox 16.0.2.
Never had a problem before this update...
Any other ideas anyone?

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18171
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 9:52 am

saint1 wrote: Using Help>Safe Mode just brings up a window with a lot of blank, empty 'squares'...

Did you in fact click on Help and then you got a Safe Mode display... or, did you click on Help and then Restart with Add-ons Disabled? ... and, then got a small window about Safe Mode... Just checking here... if that's not exactly what you got then you need to be very explicit in your responses else... you will send us down the wrong path.
just brings up a window with a lot of blank, empty 'squares'...

You might want to post a screen-shot of what you see...
See: Posting_a_screenshot_on_the_forum.
Posting a screenshot on the forum - MozillaZine Knowledge Base
Use a compressed image format like .png or .jpg and please do not post large images that break the forum layout, use thumbnails instead or only post a link.
If you need a place to host a screenshot... Note the "Uploading for general use" section of the document.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8567
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 10:29 am

just brings up a window with a lot of blank, empty 'squares'...

Sounds like the OP is getting the newtab page with no thumbs ..
"Computers make it easier to do a lot of things, but most of the things they make it easier to do don't need to be done."
~ Andy Rooney

saint1
 
Posts: 111
Joined: November 24th, 2004, 5:12 pm

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 1:57 pm

Hi fellas...I tried the following:
1. Clicked Help>'Restart with Add-Ons Disabled'. Window appeared regarding 'Start Firefox in Safe Mode'...I OK'd that, then all I got was those 'blank, empty squares'.
2. Not expecting anything different from above, I tried manually disabling all Add-ons. Same result, surprise, surprise..
3. I then tried disabling Add-ons one at a time, to see if there was a single culprit. The blue Search tab failed to work each time.

So, again, I have to conclude it was the FF update that caused me a problem, since I never changed a thing on my system other than the update and everything was working as it should before then.

Just so happens I've a copy of Firefox 16 on a current Computer Mag DVD.
So, I just decided to uninstall FF (ensuring I had a copy of my Bookmarks), and re-install again from the DVD.
I still had to re-install all of my Add-Ons, but now everything works perfectly again, including the blue Search tab!

However, within seconds, I had FF tell me of the update to 16.0.2...
I didn't allow it to install...wonder why?

I'm now convinced this update caused the irritating hiccup and until I get some clarification on this, I'll sit tight.

I've also ensured FF won't be allowed to update automatically again...Will wait to see if there are any bugs in a new version before allowing any update in future.
Thanks anyway to all for your input...

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 51381
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 3:09 pm

If there is a problem with searching via the default about:home page then try to reset the search engine used on the about:home page.

Reset the browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone pref via the right-click context menu to the default on the about:config page and close and restart Firefox to restore the about:home page to its default.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/about:config

Open the about:config page via the location bar
Type in the Filter bar: mstone
Right-click the browser.startup.homepage_override.mstone line and select: Reset
Close and restart Firefox

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18171
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 6:24 pm

JayhawksRock wrote:
just brings up a window with a lot of blank, empty 'squares'...

Sounds like the OP is getting the newtab page with no thumbs ..

Yeah.. forgot about that since I have that turned off... I should have know though. ](*,)
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8567
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 7:05 pm

LOL... one in every 10000 posts is acceptable
"Computers make it easier to do a lot of things, but most of the things they make it easier to do don't need to be done."
~ Andy Rooney

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18171
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted November 16th, 2012, 7:11 pm

Not bad for an old Black and White cat though \:D/

Always blame it on the cat... they can't prove anything one way or the other :!: :-"
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 31 guests