MozillaZine

PDF documents in FF 19

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Ed1
 
Posts: 754
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 10:49 am

Some websites, such as the IRS site, have fill-in, savable PDF versions of forms. When using FF 19 to access tax forms that are fill-in type, they display (within a FF new tab) as non-fill-in documents that are not savable, along with a FF notation that the document may not be displaying correctly and suggesting that they be opened with another PDF reader. If I select Adobe Reader, the form then displays in fill-in, savable form as intended.

Is this just the way that FF handles this type of PDF document format, or is there a way to have FF display fill-in PDF's properly within the browser?

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9200
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 11:13 am

Ed1 wrote:Is this just the way that FF handles this type of PDF document format, or is there a way to have FF display fill-in PDF's properly within the browser?

You presently can't do it. It is planned but no firm target.

.
FF 37.0.2 - FF 38.0b6 - FF40.0a1 - TB 31.6 - TB 38.0b2 - TB 39.0a2 - Mac OSX 10.10.3 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 5500
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2015

costark
 
Posts: 194
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 11:30 am

Funny you mention this. I think/hope you face what I just discovered and posted on - my FX 19 Defaulted to Tools/Options/Apps making the (5th line for me: PDF) be "PREVIEW in FIREFOX.
Once I chg'd it to "Use Acrobat" my PDF viewing issue disappeared.
Check your Apps Settings for PDF, NOT JUST the ADOBE lines (as I mistakenly did).
Firefox 37.0.1 - Win 7 Hm Prem 64 - ESET ESS 8 - MBAM Pro - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect - Diskeeper Pro 15 - EPIM Mail - Secunia PSI 2 - NO Java

Ed1
 
Posts: 754
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 11:41 am

costark wrote:Funny you mention this. I think/hope you face what I just discovered and posted on - my FX 19 Defaulted to Tools/Options/Apps making the (5th line for me: PDF) be "PREVIEW in FIREFOX.
Once I chg'd it to "Use Acrobat" my PDF viewing issue disappeared.
Check your Apps Settings for PDF, NOT JUST the ADOBE lines (as I mistakenly did).


costark, in those settings I see options only for Adobe Acrobat within Firefox, and Adobe Reader. It was set to Adobe Acrobat within Firefox. I changed the setting to Adobe Reader.

No change in behavior at all. The fill in PDF forms still do not display as fill-in type and the FF message about selecting another reader still appears.

Ed1
 
Posts: 754
Joined: January 30th, 2005, 2:33 pm

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 11:46 am

costark, I apologize. I made the same mistake you did! Once I changed the PDF line to Use Acrobat in Firefox, the form displays correctly and the problem disappears.

Thank you very much.

Alice

User avatar
 
Posts: 2613
Joined: April 23rd, 2003, 11:47 am

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 12:22 pm

Here is a screenshot showing how to find and change the setting in the Firefox Options Applications settings, in case it helps others who read this thread:

Image
Alice Wyman

costark
 
Posts: 194
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 12:46 pm

I survive computers off other people's expertise/kindness so it's nice to Pay It Forward when able.
Hopefully, a Firefox Moderator/Staff-er will note this Impractical FX 19 Default Setting for PDF (that trashes the Prior Setting, at least for Some of us) and Allow old PDF settings to remain at upgrade.
Last edited by costark on February 28th, 2013, 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Firefox 37.0.1 - Win 7 Hm Prem 64 - ESET ESS 8 - MBAM Pro - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect - Diskeeper Pro 15 - EPIM Mail - Secunia PSI 2 - NO Java

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8566
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 12:49 pm

costark wrote:Hopefully, a Firefox Big Shot will note this Impractical FX 19 Default Setting for PDF (that trashes the Prior Setting, at least for Some of us) and Allow old PDF settings to remain at upgrade.

No Big Shots here :D > http://www.mozillazine.org/about/
"Computers make it easier to do a lot of things, but most of the things they make it easier to do don't need to be done."
~ Andy Rooney

costark
 
Posts: 194
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 12:56 pm

JayhawksRock wrote:
costark wrote:Hopefully, a Firefox Big Shot will note this Impractical FX 19 Default Setting for PDF (that trashes the Prior Setting, at least for Some of us) and Allow old PDF settings to remain at upgrade.

No Big Shots here :D > http://www.mozillazine.org/about/

Though "person with high influence" was the intended use, I changed it up just as you posted. Surely someone at the Forum knows someone at Mozilla.
Firefox 37.0.1 - Win 7 Hm Prem 64 - ESET ESS 8 - MBAM Pro - SuperAS Pro - Macrium Reflect - Diskeeper Pro 15 - EPIM Mail - Secunia PSI 2 - NO Java

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 9200
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted February 28th, 2013, 1:12 pm

costark wrote:Surely someone at the Forum knows someone at Mozilla.


Not that I know of.

.
FF 37.0.2 - FF 38.0b6 - FF40.0a1 - TB 31.6 - TB 38.0b2 - TB 39.0a2 - Mac OSX 10.10.3 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 5500
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2015

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests