MozillaZine

Update Just now - 22.0 - JavaScript error with every click

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Vitesse
 
Posts: 1238
Joined: April 21st, 2011, 6:03 pm

Post Posted May 18th, 2013, 10:36 am

al**bear wrote:It has totally wrecked my Facebook and crippled an essential add-on
'Facebook Purity'

Error: Illegal Operation on WrappedNative prototype object.


Probably a deliberate act by Facebook as part of their latest redesign! Even the latest version of FB Purity (8.3.0), which is available on the author's site, throws this error.
al**bear wrote:on loads of other sites, it is impossible to copy & paste

Try disabling FB Purity - that may solve it. If not, then another extension must be affected too.

al**bear
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 5th, 2010, 2:25 am

Post Posted May 18th, 2013, 11:30 pm

Vitesse wrote:
Probably a deliberate act by Facebook as part of their latest redesign! Even the latest version of FB Purity (8.3.0), which is available on the author's site, throws this error.
al**bear wrote:on loads of other sites, it is impossible to copy & paste

Try disabling FB Purity - that may solve it. If not, then another extension must be affected too.


No it is FF22.0

installed FF21.0 and 'FB purity' still works

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43888
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted May 18th, 2013, 11:59 pm

Then it is an extension problem with Firefox 22 that needs to be fixed by the author
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

al**bear
 
Posts: 15
Joined: July 5th, 2010, 2:25 am

Post Posted May 19th, 2013, 12:17 am

malliz wrote:Then it is an extension problem with Firefox 22 that needs to be fixed by the author



But others are getting the same error on different sites

Vitesse
 
Posts: 1238
Joined: April 21st, 2011, 6:03 pm

Post Posted May 19th, 2013, 12:25 am

malliz wrote:Then it is an extension problem with Firefox 22 that needs to be fixed by the author

Exactly. I've just had an email from him, in which he states that he can't support beta versions (even though it worked fine with everything up to 21 beta). On his home page he says he's actually been banned from Facebook and his email to me says:
FB Purity works fine with the current stable version of Firefox.
I cant support beta builds of firefox, this is mentioned in the FBP FAQ http://faq.fbpurity.com

If you use beta browsers you have got to expect some things wont work.

Also stated in the FAQ, if you have the new design for the newsfeed, FBP will not work, the reason for this is that I do not yet have the new design on my own facebook account, and i cannot update FBP to work with the new newsfeed, until I get it enabled on my own account.

al**bear wrote:
Vitesse wrote:
Probably a deliberate act by Facebook as part of their latest redesign! Even the latest version of FB Purity (8.3.0), which is available on the author's site, throws this error.
al**bear wrote:on loads of other sites, it is impossible to copy & paste

Try disabling FB Purity - that may solve it. If not, then another extension must be affected too.


No it is FF22.0

installed FF21.0 and 'FB purity' still works

Yes, well, it would. But the point I was trying to make was that some of FB Purity's functions may extend to other pages which have overt or covert links to Facebook. Disabling the extension might have solved it: if it didn't, then another extension would be to blame and you could investigate further. It could even be a conflict between FB Purity and another extension.

Kevin McFarlane
 
Posts: 575
Joined: November 10th, 2009, 3:47 am

Post Posted June 26th, 2013, 2:39 am

I've just run into this error with v22 release version. I disabled all add-ons and have been re-enabling them one at a time but have yet to find the culprit. I've gotten as far as re-enabling the add-ons I use all the time and will re-enable the others as and when needed. Then presumably at some point the error will be triggered.

Vidfamne
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 26th, 2013, 5:11 am

Post Posted June 26th, 2013, 5:15 am

I also updated today to release version of FF22 and received the error on one of my machines running Windows 7. The box running on Windows 8 seems to work. I have the same add-ons on both. I've also trid the same sites on both (also non-facebook sites).
Both are upgraded via MS Update to latest as per this morning CET.

It's a bit frustrating to say the least.

Filenest
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 26th, 2013, 12:57 pm

Post Posted June 26th, 2013, 12:59 pm

The update broke Gmails attachments download as well...getting a lot of these "illigal operation wrappednative prototype" no matter what I visit?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122385
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 26th, 2013, 7:15 pm

Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
Do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

Also see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic_-_Firefox

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122385
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 26th, 2013, 7:39 pm

Moving to Firefox Support.

Vidfamne
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 26th, 2013, 5:11 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2013, 2:34 am

This is starting to get annoying. I get the popup whatever I do on any site I'm on. How can I revert to ff21 without having to reinstall my addons etc and keeping all history? This needs quick attention.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43888
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted June 27th, 2013, 2:45 am

Contact the extension author stop complaining to us we can't fix it
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

Vidfamne
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 26th, 2013, 5:11 am

Post Posted June 27th, 2013, 2:48 am

malliz wrote:Contact the extension author stop complaining to us we can't fix it

Well, I don't use any of the extensions mentioned previously that doesn't work. So obviously there are several extensions then not working. And why does it work for win8 and not win7?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122385
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 27th, 2013, 4:57 am

Because there are differences between Win 7 and Win 8?

Have you tested in Mozilla Safe Mode to determine if the issue is related to an installed extension?

Kevin McFarlane
 
Posts: 575
Joined: November 10th, 2009, 3:47 am

Post Posted June 28th, 2013, 4:11 am

Just for clarification, in my case the problem went away in safe mode, so I disabled all extensions in normal mode and started re-enabling them. So far I've not triggered the issue so I don't yet know which extension is the culprit.

My currently re-enabled extensions are:

Adblock Plus
Add-ons Manager Dialog Returns
Autofill Forms
Back/forward dropmarker
Download Statusbar
feedly
FireGestures
GMarks
Google Shortcuts
Googlebar Lite
Greasemonkey
iReader
Mozilla Labs: Prospector - Instant Preview
Mozilla Labs: Prospector - Speak Words
Multiple Tab Handler
Send Link in context menu
Tab Mix Plus
TableTools2
Textarea Cache
UI Fixer
X-notifier

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests