MozillaZine

firefox using excessive amount of cpu

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
manrow
 
Posts: 1
Joined: May 27th, 2013, 7:40 am

Post Posted May 27th, 2013, 8:35 am

I have read why firefox uses so much of my computer(s) cpu time, and have tried to follow the ideas on how I can counter this effect. However I have to ask why does Internet Explorer not use anything like as much cpu?
Furthermore it seems to me that firefox is updated too frequently? Is that the experience of others?
I presume that many of the designers of the firefox application will be using the latest state-of-the-art computers which may be why with my older machines I get so much trouble.

LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38855
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted May 27th, 2013, 9:04 am

How much CPU is to much? Comparing it to I.E. doesn't make sense, I.E. is part of the Windows Operating System so a good deal of its CPU is hidden.
Post wrangler
"If you lock this, the Pentium IIs win." - anonymous

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18611
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 27th, 2013, 9:18 am

manrow wrote:I have read why firefox uses so much of my computer(s) cpu time, and have tried to follow the ideas on how I can counter this effect. However I have to ask why does Internet Explorer not use anything like as much cpu?
Furthermore it seems to me that firefox is updated too frequently? Is that the experience of others?
I presume that many of the designers of the firefox application will be using the latest state-of-the-art computers which may be why with my older machines I get so much trouble.

1st... some heavy users around here are still using old(er) XP machines... with minimal memory and Firefox is working fine in there...

2nd... what extensions/themes etc. users have added to their Firefox profile(s) can greatly affect how much memory is used and how hard the CPU has to work...

It would be better if you would list out some of the changes you've made to your Firefox.. those changes that you've read in those "ideas" areas... extensions/themes you've installed etc... in that way we can better help you with your question.

As for the updating schedule... it's basically every 6 weeks... but there is what's called an ESR version that you may be interested in... but, that can wait until your other issues are answered.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

kreemoweet
 
Posts: 408
Joined: December 30th, 2009, 11:25 pm

Post Posted May 27th, 2013, 11:59 am

It makes no sense to claim that Firefox uses "too much" CPU without saying what it is Firefox is doing. Just sitting there, displaying a static
web page, it uses essentially ZERO cpu, the same as IE. Scrolling the page around, cpu usage jumps up for a second or two, the same as IE does (only IE uses
MORE cpu doing that on my machine). See what I mean?

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 18611
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 27th, 2013, 6:39 pm

The interesting thing is that the OP posted....
I have read why firefox uses so much of my computer(s) cpu time

... and not the normal cpu number "%" that most users post... the "time" is pretty meaningless when you think about it.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

lithopsian
 
Posts: 3210
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 9:03 am

Post Posted May 28th, 2013, 6:45 am

Firefox has progressively used more and more CPU in subsequent versions. This has been through a combination of new functionality, bug fixes, and making things "faster". For the most part, this has been an improvement as modern CPUs are more than capable of handling the load. If you have a fairly old CPU then you may notice these improvements as a degradation because your CPU has maxed out.

Other than that banal generality, its hard to say much without knowing what you are regarding as excessive, and why.

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39114
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted May 28th, 2013, 7:12 am

I experienced that some toolbars can hog a complete core. Check your addons.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

slrman

User avatar
 
Posts: 17
Joined: May 16th, 2008, 4:20 pm

Post Posted August 15th, 2013, 10:42 am

Firefox using way too much CPU has been a problem for years. Even with FF23, it has not been fixed. Don't tell me about add-ons and themes, not using any of either does not help.


I like the add-ons, I have never used any themes. But this problem not having been fixed after years of complaints, tells me the developers simply do not care or are unable t change it.

Goodby, FF. Welcome back Safari. Even IE would be an improvement. :x [-X [-(
If freedom means anything at all, it is the liberty to tell others what they do not want to hear.

JayhawksRock

User avatar
 
Posts: 8794
Joined: October 24th, 2010, 8:51 am

Post Posted August 15th, 2013, 11:01 am

Go tell it Mozilla... we are a community of users just like you http://www.mozillazine.org/about/ so we dont care what browser you use...
Oh... and have a nice Life.
"Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read." ~ Groucho Marx

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests