MozillaZine

Vine videos do not play on Firefox.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
LoudNoise
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38608
Joined: October 18th, 2007, 1:45 pm
Location: Next door to the west

Post Posted August 7th, 2013, 9:21 pm

Good question. A link to a https source would be welcomed. Also, have you tried safe mode?
Post wrangler
Notice: If you have a comment on moderation, please post here viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2706389 and don't private message a mod. I don't reply to private messages unless I have previously requested them

StealthX
 
Posts: 621
Joined: November 15th, 2011, 4:50 pm

Post Posted August 7th, 2013, 11:35 pm

Also if anyone was wondering it happened on FF22 also.

Warduke
 
Posts: 630
Joined: November 4th, 2002, 7:49 pm

Post Posted August 14th, 2013, 9:35 am

Having the same issue so I tried IE and interestingly enough, Vine videos don't play in IE either. Since I almost never use IE I have no idea if this is something new or if Vine videos have always had problems in IE.

I also found this: https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=892976
Firefox : One Browser to Rule Them All.

patrickjdempsey

User avatar
 
Posts: 22348
Joined: October 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am
Location: Asheville NC

Post Posted August 14th, 2013, 3:16 pm

If you are having problems in multiple browsers, it's probably an OS-level codec issue. I have no idea how to update those.
Tip of the day: If it has "toolbar" in the name, it's crap.
What my avatar is about: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/seamonkey/addon/sea-fox/

Random Terrain

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 3rd, 2007, 11:10 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 28th, 2013, 2:00 am

MarkRH wrote:In order for me to play them (stop being a still image), I have to set "media.windows-media-foundation.enabled" in about:config to "false". I made a toolbar button that toggles the setting so I can turn it on/off whenever.


Can you tell me, and anyone else who might be interested, how to make a toolbar button that will toggle that setting? That's the fix I need, but I'd also like a button to toggle it off and on.

Thanks.

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted August 28th, 2013, 2:46 am

Random Terrain wrote:
MarkRH wrote:In order for me to play them (stop being a still image), I have to set "media.windows-media-foundation.enabled" in about:config to "false". I made a toolbar button that toggles the setting so I can turn it on/off whenever.


Can you tell me, and anyone else who might be interested, how to make a toolbar button that will toggle that setting? That's the fix I need, but I'd also like a button to toggle it off and on.

Thanks.


I installed the Custom Buttons Extension: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... m-buttons/

I then created a button with the following code in the Initialization Tab:
Code: Select all
/*Initialization Code*/
var Title = "Vine";
var TTE = "HTML5 H264 Support Enabled";
var TTD = "HTML5 H264 Support Disabled";
var prefBranch = Components.classes["@mozilla.org/preferences-service;1"].
  getService(Components.interfaces.nsIPrefBranch);
 
this.onLeftClick=function(event)
{
  if (!prefBranch.getBoolPref("media.windows-media-foundation.enabled")) {
    prefBranch.setBoolPref("media.windows-media-foundation.enabled", true);
    custombuttons.alertSlide(Title, TTE);
  } else {
    prefBranch.setBoolPref("media.windows-media-foundation.enabled", false);
    custombuttons.alertSlide(Title, TTD);
  }
}

this.execute= function(event)
{
   switch(event.button)
   {
      case 0:
         this.onLeftClick();
         break;
   }
}
this.setAttribute("onclick", "this.execute(event);");


For the name I called it "Vine On/Off". I downloaded the Vine's website favicon for an image to use for the button.

Random Terrain

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 3rd, 2007, 11:10 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 28th, 2013, 3:15 am

MarkRH wrote:For the name I called it "Vine On/Off". I downloaded the Vine's website favicon for an image to use for the button.


I couldn't find their favicon, so I used a generic star, but the important thing is that the button works. Thanks!

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted August 28th, 2013, 1:36 pm

Random Terrain wrote:
MarkRH wrote:For the name I called it "Vine On/Off". I downloaded the Vine's website favicon for an image to use for the button.


I couldn't find their favicon, so I used a generic star, but the important thing is that the button works. Thanks!


Their icon is here: https://vine.co/static/favicon.ico (oh save the file locally and use the local saved copy) :)

Random Terrain

User avatar
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 3rd, 2007, 11:10 am
Location: USA

Post Posted August 28th, 2013, 1:54 pm

MarkRH wrote:Their icon is here: https://vine.co/static/favicon.ico (oh save the file locally and use the local saved copy) :)


No wonder I couldn't find it. I thought those had to be in the root folder. I saved it to my computer, edited the button, and now I have a Vine button instead of a star. Thanks again.

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 717
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted October 23rd, 2013, 2:25 pm

FYI, not sure if due to newer version of FF (now 24) or a change in how they are coding the Vine videos/player but now they work properly using HTML5 with media.windows-media-foundation.enabled set to true.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], rigsby999 and 11 guests