MozillaZine


Firefox 24 and Google Toolbar not playing nice!

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
jfrog
 
Posts: 13
Joined: June 8th, 2012, 2:01 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 2:34 pm

Firefox 24 and Google Toolbar not playing nice!

Yes, I still have my Google Toolbar, and it still works great, thanks for asking.

I just updated to FF 24, and the new tab function* doesn't work. I finally narrowed it down to the Google Toolbar. If I disable it, the new tab functionality returns. When it's enabled, new tabs don't appear. (They're actually created, but don't appear)

Any thoughts, workarounds or anything?

John

*Neither FILE -> NEW TAB or clicking the + on the next tab.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 124239
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 2:47 pm

Google hasn't supported their toolbar for Firefox for quite some time now. Since the problem seems to be caused by the toolbar, the solution may be to disable or remove that toolbar.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27754
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 3:14 pm

The Google toobar has not played nice since Firefox 5.0 as Google announced they dropped support for it a month after Firefox 5.0 was released with Fx 4.0 being the last they supported barely.

jfrog
 
Posts: 13
Joined: June 8th, 2012, 2:01 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 3:34 pm

Actually, GT has worked fine through FF 23. While it stopped being supported (different from stopped working) after version 4 or something, if you know the tricks to keep it running, it'll keep working.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44218
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 3:48 pm

If it works so well then why are you here?
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

jdspencer
 
Posts: 914
Joined: November 6th, 2006, 7:57 pm
Location: Binghamton, NY

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 4:06 pm

Someone please enlighten me!

What's so good about the Google toolbar or any of the other ones that are out there?
I get along just fine with what comes with Firefox.
Extra toolbars just makes the browser messy.

jfrog
 
Posts: 13
Joined: June 8th, 2012, 2:01 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 9:36 pm

malliz wrote:If it works so well then why are you here?


Refer to line 3 of the original post.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44218
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 9:56 pm

So not only doesn't it work it breaks other functions.......ditch it
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 10:12 pm

One reason Google had for ditching it is that it became basically obsolete. There aren't many supporters of any toolbars here, and this one is no exception. I don't recall ever seeing workarounds posted, but I guess you can stay tuned and hope. Also search Google.

jfrog
 
Posts: 13
Joined: June 8th, 2012, 2:01 pm

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 10:26 pm

malliz wrote:So not only doesn't it work it breaks other functions.......ditch it


No, it still does work. There are reasons I prefer it to the other toolbars I've seen.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44218
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 18th, 2013, 10:36 pm

jfrog wrote:I just updated to FF 24, and the new tab function* doesn't work. I finally narrowed it down to the Google Toolbar. If I disable it, the new tab functionality returns.

Sounds like the definition of broken to me. Seriously Google dumped it years ago and the percentage of people who use it still must be minimal so your chances of a fix or anyone who cares are approaching zero
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

jeane99
 
Posts: 3
Joined: September 19th, 2013, 1:16 am

Post Posted September 19th, 2013, 1:20 am

I still use it!

(and would be ever so grateful for a fix).

Google toolbar is great! pop your search terms in and hit the icon to search images, news, maps etc. hit the mail icon and be directed straight to your email. press the drop down menu to see search history.

now it's just a faff.

following this thread now because the eternal optimist in me is hoping, hoping, hoping that a kind and clever soul will use their powers for good.

VanillaMozilla
 
Posts: 13808
Joined: November 7th, 2005, 11:26 am

Post Posted September 19th, 2013, 6:33 am

jeane99 wrote:pop your search terms in and hit the icon to search images, news, maps etc.

Or go to Google, hit the icon, and pop your search term in.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted September 19th, 2013, 7:02 am

jfrog wrote:... I just updated to FF 24, and the new tab function* doesn't work. I finally narrowed it down to the Google Toolbar. If I disable it, the new tab functionality returns. When it's enabled, new tabs don't appear. (They're actually created, but don't appear)

Any thoughts, workarounds or anything?
...

:-k if you want a google toolbar, use an updated version:
Googlebar Lite Image
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20210118 SeaMonkey/2.53.6
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20210225 SeaMonkey/2.53.8

jeane99
 
Posts: 3
Joined: September 19th, 2013, 1:16 am

Post Posted September 19th, 2013, 7:16 am

ElTxolo wrote:
jfrog wrote:... I just updated to FF 24, and the new tab function* doesn't work. I finally narrowed it down to the Google Toolbar. If I disable it, the new tab functionality returns. When it's enabled, new tabs don't appear. (They're actually created, but don't appear)

Any thoughts, workarounds or anything?
...

:-k if you want a google toolbar, use an updated version:
Googlebar Lite Image


not a bad compromise - many thanks :)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests